SD Card Help!

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-14-17, 09:42 AM
biketrax's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 376
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
SD Card Help!

I am not trying to recover (not the pictures from) an SD card! That's what I get when I google it, they want me to download a program and help me try and recover the pix. I understand this may be the only way to get it working again?

However I transfered all the content safely and now the DCIM folder is gone and it shows as an error in the computer and the camera. It would be nice to try to get it working again. PS I did format it after transfer. Perhaps this is what screwed it up?
Hope I made myself understood?
thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-14-17, 11:22 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 21,418
Received 298 Votes on 272 Posts
What error are you getting?

I suspect you have a corrupt or bad memory card. All cameras will create a DCIM folder when a blank or formatted card is inserted and a computer should be able to at least read the card even if it doesn't contain anything.
 
  #3  
Old 06-15-17, 01:50 PM
biketrax's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 376
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
PD to answer your question "Memory Card Error" in the Camera.
It also does not allow me to format it from the camera only the laptop. To correct myself from early post it only claims a Memory card error on the camera. I can easily view that it is empty on the laptop. I have tried different laptops. no change. I may chaulk it up as a loss.
However I was able to transfer a few picture to it but unable to read it from the camera. it basically acted like a cd. or a USB memory stick transfer
 
  #4  
Old 06-15-17, 03:51 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 785
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
https://photo.stackexchange.com/ques...-use-in-camera

What file system was used when you formatted it? It could be that the laptop can read it but the camera can't.
 
  #5  
Old 06-19-17, 07:55 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,385
Received 46 Votes on 39 Posts
Here's what may have happened.

Camera formatted SD card, wrote "DCIM" folder.
When you went to copy the folder, the computer MOVED it, i.e. removed it from the SD card.
Now, the camera is looking for a folder that isn't there.

(Formatting in the PC can create a problem, but check this first)

Seems like the Camera is looking for DCIM folder, but can't find it.

What I'd try is COPY the DCIM folder from the computer back to the SD card.
You'll have DCIM folder on the computer, and a copy on the SD card.

See if the camera will read the card now.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: