Random Device Disconnect Sound - Could it be electrical?

Reply

  #81  
Old 08-11-17, 03:59 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 43
Of course - if I can catch him. Apparently, the marriage has dissolved... and one or the other or the realtor return periodically for a few minutes (usually during the day).
 
Sponsored Links
  #82  
Old 08-11-17, 04:27 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 785
Apparently, the marriage has dissolved
While that's not good news, it might solve your problem. You can wait until you see someone or leave a note. If you are really intent on contacting him, let me know.
 
  #83  
Old 08-12-17, 12:11 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,105
A visual inspection will normally tell you a lot. Old or frayed cables. Loose connections. A simple check with a multimeter from the metal case or chassis to ground (on an outlet), should read real close to zero ohms. Bond (run wire between) all metal cases or chassis.

Some of this is a lot harder since so many things are almost all plastic or snap together. I remember a time when speakers were in metal shells because you'd get a hum from the CRT itself sometimes.

Just look up electrical bonding and grounding. Wikipedia explains it pretty well. You can use just about any type of wire since it's not a part of the home electrical system and therefore not regulated by code. You need a multimeter if you don't have one already. You can get a decent analog meter for $15-20. Any less and they are kind of a pain to work with.
 
  #84  
Old 08-12-17, 03:38 AM
czizzi's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 7,376
Likes Received: 9
If your router is a dual band variety try switching to another band. Mine works at both 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz. Many other wireless devices like phones also work in the 2.4GHz range. Back when I had a land line for my home phone I used to lose my internet connection if the wireless phone was in use. They both worked on 2.4 GHz and messed up the signal to my wifi on my computer. I use the 5 GHz signal now because of that. Although have been all cellular in my house for about 5 years, I remember being frustrated when a telemarketer would call in and mess up my internet connection.
 
  #85  
Old 09-09-17, 01:10 AM
steve_gro's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,091
Do both computer have bluetooth?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes