Windows 10 Image

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-06-17, 11:48 PM
kolias's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,429
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Windows 10 Image

I have a Dell Inspiron since December 2015 with Windows 10 and I did a system backup on a USB when I got it.

Last March I had to send it back to Dell for repairs and came back with a new Windows 10 installation because they changed the motherboard. Trying to do again a new system backup (image) I noticed the only options are to backup to an external HD, DVD’s or network.

Is it possible to do a system backup to a USB or the newer Windows 10?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-07-17, 06:06 AM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 785
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Isn't a USB also considered an external HD with a drive letter?
 
  #3  
Old 07-07-17, 06:54 AM
kolias's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,429
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
I used the same 16GB USB I had the previous windows10 backup which I first re format with NTFS and I forget the exact words but windows didn’t like it. I first did a quick re format on the USB and then tried with full re format and got the same message.

As I mentioned the option for an image backup now are
An external HD
DVD’s or
Network

I suspect since it says “external HD” and not “external HD or USB” you can’t use a USB
 
  #4  
Old 07-07-17, 07:03 AM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 785
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What happens if you take an IDE or SATA HD & connect it with a USB external HD enclosure?
 
  #5  
Old 07-07-17, 08:54 AM
kolias's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,429
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
I do have a 1.5TB USB Seagate HD but my question was why I was able to backup windows10 system on a USB before and now I can’t.

Using the Seagate USB HD I have to make a bootable partition on it with the windows10 rescue utility and then do the system backup or since the Seagate is networked I could do the backup by trying the “Network” option from the win10 system backup which I didn’t try.

Best I would rather try the DVD’s option since I don’t want to mess up my Seagate with a bootable sector however I was hoping someone here would have been able to answer my original question
 
  #6  
Old 07-07-17, 09:17 AM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 785
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I haven't tried to create a bootable backup in Win 10 & probably won't. Since Windows OSes have recovery partitions now & since I have a recovery DVD, I see no need. All that's needed is a file backup.
 
  #7  
Old 07-07-17, 10:08 AM
kolias's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,429
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
I agree however the purpose of a system backup is you are backing up that recovery partition in case your HD fails.

Not likely but if it happens you will have no OS to install on your new HD
 
  #8  
Old 07-07-17, 05:35 PM
H
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,702
Received 90 Votes on 79 Posts
I'll make a wild guess that for some reason, your 2nd installation of Windows 10 needs more than 16 gigs for the backup...

If it's the OLD drive, but NEW motherboard, you probably have a huge "windows.old" folder which has the entire 1st Win 10 installation. That suggests you're basically backing up 2 copies of Win 10.

Select C:\, right click for properties, tools, general, disk cleanup, system files.
Check if you have a mega-gig system backup.
 
  #9  
Old 07-08-17, 06:54 AM
kolias's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,429
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
That’s an excellent idea Hal_S which I never thought about it and makes sense

Somehow I think I did a disk cleanup but don’t really remember

The Dell belongs to my wife and when she comes back today I will check it out
 
  #10  
Old 07-08-17, 04:35 PM
kolias's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,429
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
The recovery partition on Dell is 10.6GB so as I guessed I had deleted the old win10 when I did a disk cleanup.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: