Using 1 power supply to power LCD and Commodore 64

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-03-17, 11:58 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Using 1 power supply to power LCD and Commodore 64

Hi there,

I'm recently dipped my toe into computer hardware modding. I have no background whatsoever, so I'm learning as I go.

I'm working on building a custom Commodore 64 laptop. I've hooked up the guts of the C64 to an LCD module using an LCD controller board. Everything works great, except I need a power supply for the LCD and a separate power supply for the C64.

I'm ready to get my hands dirty, so I'm wondering if there's a way to use 1 power supply with some kind of splitter to power both. What would I need and what should I know?

Thanks in advance!
 
  #2  
Old 08-03-17, 12:01 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Moved to Computer Forum. .
 
  #3  
Old 08-03-17, 01:03 PM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 24,418
Received 746 Votes on 685 Posts
What are the power requirements of each device?
 
  #4  
Old 08-03-17, 01:45 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The motherboard needs 5 volt DC.

The LCD needs 12 volt AC? I think....it's using this: CE Approval Universal 12V 4A Power Adapter Supply US Plug For LCD Controller Kit | eBay
 
  #5  
Old 08-03-17, 01:48 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Actually, here's what the motherboard needs:

"All you need for your C64 to work is a good 5 volt DC supply and a good 9 volt AC supply. Furthermore, you need at least 1.5 amps (1.7 for the C64C) on the 5V side, and at least 1 amp for the 9V side."
 
  #6  
Old 08-03-17, 04:51 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,761
Received 1,321 Votes on 1,221 Posts
The adapter for the display is DC...... 12VDC.

You need three supplies unless you have a dual supply for the C64 already.
 
  #7  
Old 08-03-17, 10:05 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This is the power supply I have for the C64: Commodore 64 C64 Power Supply P/N 251053-02 original | eBay

What would I need in order to run both devices off a single power supply?
 
  #8  
Old 08-03-17, 11:27 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, so I did some research. Basically, the way I understand it is, if I have a 12V DC power supply, I will need power supply switching to be able to have it power the motherboard and the LCD at the same time.

And in order to get the 5V DC, I will need a switching regulator that steps the 12V down to 5V.

Now the question is, which power supply switching and switching regulator to I get? There seem to be a lot of different types with different specs.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: