Wifi not working on windows 10

Old 09-05-17, 01:27 PM
K
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Wifi not working on windows 10

I have a Toshiba Satellite with Windows 10.
Wifi was working perfect . A few days back, I connected to wifi using my phone as a wifi hub . since then, Wifi stopped working. After a Driver upgrade , it is working intermittently -- connects sometimes and then disconnect after a few minutes/hours.
I have tried DNS flush , driver update uninstall/reinstall everything. I am a Software engineer , so can do basic troubleshooting but at this point , I am just out of ideas.

Can someone suggest any other step ?

Sponsored Links
Old 09-05-17, 02:04 PM
H
Received 69 Votes on 60 Posts
I've had something similar, solution was to login as admin, hook the phone BACK UP,
THEN uninstall ALL of the phone/android/sdk drivers,
Then uninstall the WIFI drivers.
Then, boot up so that the computer loads the wifi drivers without any phone drivers in the system.

Old 09-05-17, 02:13 PM
K
Thanks but I did not get what is Phone/Android Driver ? I used the phone as a wifi (Tethering) and connected the laptop using Wifi . Is there a separate driver for phone ? I know I have one for LAN and one for Bluetooth

Old 09-05-17, 02:22 PM
H
Received 69 Votes on 60 Posts
WEll, usually, the phone-tethering via android (cellular data or wifi) will load a driver for the phone,
and it will create a new "network" connection for the phone.

Either or those can mess up the existing, ethernet.

Old 09-05-17, 02:26 PM
K
Got it. Let me see if I can find it. I tethered through iPhone though (not android) but you are right, I too suspect something somewhere got created which is causing the conflict

Old 09-05-17, 02:43 PM
D
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Are there any problems if you connect the laptop to the router instead of the phone?

Old 09-05-17, 05:03 PM
K
Originally Posted by Donato_ View Post