What anti virus program are you using.

Old 12-05-17, 07:00 PM
Group Moderator
Question What anti virus program are you using.

This subject has been covered in the past several times but it's time to revisit it.

I've been using the paid edition of Malwarebytes for several years with good results. Their latest update has an actual application running and the entire program is using up an incredible amount of resources.... almost 50% or slightly higher with multiple tabs open.

It's time to look for a replacement.
What are you using and is it effective.... IE no virus problems ?
I'm not against a paid service. I bought the lifetime service from Malware.

I've been reading reviews and no two reviewers can agree with each other.

Sponsored Links
Old 12-05-17, 09:50 PM
Super Moderator
Again I use no live antivirus program. I disabled the windows defender long ago.. I use free stuff....

I have never had a virus per se' whatever hijack thing I get I can usually eliminate it fast...

Ive been down to two programs to clean the computer weekly of trackers..

Superantispyware free edition...( Better then malwarebytes IMO but I do scan with malwarebytes occasionally..

Also Glary utilities for wiping cache, registry stuff etc etc...

Thats it.....

And TCP optimizer to speed up windows standard settings...

Old 12-05-17, 09:53 PM
Group Moderator
Thanks for the info Mike.

Old 12-05-17, 10:12 PM
Super Moderator
I have Malwarebytes and Superantispyware installed, but only run them as scans. I have McAfee Total Protection as my.......no just kidding!

I use Panda Free as my antivirus running all the time. I used to use Avast or AVG back in the day and don't really remember why I changed, but it seems they were resource hogs.

Old 12-06-17, 02:31 AM
on windows PC I run Avast free because I'm cheep and refuse to pay.... on Linux mint I haven't been running an anti virus

Old 12-06-17, 03:50 AM