Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

What anti virus program are you using.

Group Moderator

NJ

12-05-17, 08:00 PM   #1 (permalink)  
What anti virus program are you using.

This subject has been covered in the past several times but it's time to revisit it.

I've been using the paid edition of Malwarebytes for several years with good results. Their latest update has an actual application running and the entire program is using up an incredible amount of resources.... almost 50% or slightly higher with multiple tabs open.

It's time to look for a replacement.
What are you using and is it effective.... IE no virus problems ?
I'm not against a paid service. I bought the lifetime service from Malware.

I've been reading reviews and no two reviewers can agree with each other.

~ Pete ~

Sponsored Links
Super Moderator

NJ

12-05-17, 10:50 PM   #2 (permalink)  
Again I use no live antivirus program. I disabled the windows defender long ago.. I use free stuff....

I have never had a virus per se' whatever hijack thing I get I can usually eliminate it fast...

Ive been down to two programs to clean the computer weekly of trackers..

Superantispyware free edition...( Better then malwarebytes IMO but I do scan with malwarebytes occasionally..

Also Glary utilities for wiping cache, registry stuff etc etc...

Thats it.....

And TCP optimizer to speed up windows standard settings...

Mike NJ

"The problems that exist in the world today cannot be solved by the level of thinking that created them".

- Albert Einstein

Group Moderator

NJ

12-05-17, 10:53 PM   #3 (permalink)  
Thanks for the info Mike.

~ Pete ~

Super Moderator

AZ

12-05-17, 11:12 PM   #4 (permalink)  
I have Malwarebytes and Superantispyware installed, but only run them as scans. I have McAfee Total Protection as my.......no just kidding!