worth keeping an old laptop, advice please

Old 03-04-18, 11:03 AM
worth keeping an old laptop, advice please

hello

i have an old HP pavilion dv6000 laptop that is about 10 years old originally running windows vista.
a while back it started getting progressively slower and slower and taking longer to boot up, eventually freezing completely.
while i am no computer expert i managed to reinstall a new copy of windows 7 i had from my newer dell desktop.
the laptop ran reasonably well for a few days and eventually started getting progressively slower again with very delayed keystrokes, now sometimes it does not even boot properly.

this computer owes me nothing and is only used as a secondary/backup computer.
is there something else i should try before i scrap it?
dont want to invest a lot of time or money?

thanks for any advice?

Sponsored Links
Old 03-04-18, 11:13 AM
I would keep it, but I'm a "pack rat extrordinare"! If you decide to trash it, download the software and "wipe" the drive. You'd be amazed (many are horrified) at what can be found out from a drive.

Old 03-04-18, 12:24 PM
your preaching to the choir
i take a sledge hammer to all old computed hard drives

this machine was amazing in it day but seems to be a paperweight now?

Old 03-04-18, 12:39 PM
Group Moderator
I'm still using a Toshiba laptop from 2006 and running Vista. It needs a new hard drive. It has a hard time keeping up with me and slow booting. I'm going to put a 250G SSD in it.

Old 03-04-18, 06:21 PM
Put Linux on it.

You'll still be able to surf the web, read your emails, and type a letter.

It's free and much more secure than Vista.

Old 03-05-18, 04:20 AM
It's possible it has a hardware issue. 2 different OS's doing the same thing is a good clue, possibly the hard drive is on its way out, it can be tested by downloading the drive MFG's diagnostic tool. You can look in device manager to find the brand of the drive.

Old 03-05-18, 04:44 AM
I'd think