A way to maintain power to a router (for a least a few min) in case of outage?

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-14-18, 09:49 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 124
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A way to maintain power to a router (for a least a few min) in case of outage?

I'm running a 24/7 live stream on Youtube and I'm wondering if there's a device that would allow the router to maintain power through a brief outage?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-14-18, 10:10 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,011
Received 835 Votes on 782 Posts
What are you using to maintain your server/computer during a power interruption ?
The same type of device will run your modem/router in a power failure.

A UPS power supply is rated for the wattage you expect to hook up to it.
Just as an example.... Computer-Uninterruptible-Power-Supply-Units
 
  #3  
Old 08-14-18, 10:22 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 124
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Using nothing now...just got started. So as I'm looking at these UPS devices, how do I determine how long they will maintain power?
 
  #4  
Old 08-14-18, 10:25 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,011
Received 835 Votes on 782 Posts
You add up the wattage from what needs to be on the UPS and calculate running time based on the size of the UPS.

Do you have a laptop or desktop system ?
Is your modem/router near your computer ?
If so you can use one UPS. If they aren't together.... you'll need a small one to run just the modem/router.
 
  #5  
Old 08-14-18, 11:11 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 124
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
They are beside one another and it's a laptop. Want to keep the price low w/o sacrificing too much in quality. Do you recommend a certain model?
 
  #6  
Old 08-14-18, 12:00 PM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,944
Received 48 Votes on 38 Posts
APC and Cyberpower are the main players although there are others. I've used both and can't say there's a lot of difference. I have mine set up as UPS for my desktop including my DSL modem and the monitoring app says my estimated run-time is about 30 minutes. As noted, a lot depends on how much you have connected and how long you want to stay powered up.

I'm using this one:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

 
  #7  
Old 08-14-18, 12:06 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 47,117
Received 226 Votes on 201 Posts
I've been using an APC 350 for 10-15 yrs. It works well although mine is a smaller/cheaper one and won't keep things going more than 5-10 minutes. It runs my pc, monitor and router. Keeps momentary outages from being a problem and gives you enough time to shut down if it looks like the power will be out for awhile.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: