voip phone service.

Old 10-12-18, 06:29 AM
F
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
voip phone service.

I just switched internet providers and the phone service they have is over the internet. I notice that people are using voip quite a bit. checking around I see that google voice is fairly popular and inexpensive. does anyone here know where to get the information on how to set it up, what kind of equipment is initially needed, does the equipment need to be hooked up before you can sign on to a voip service? I have not done this before, but have hooked up centurylink modems, so have some knowledge, but this is new to me. thanks

Sponsored Links
Old 10-12-18, 07:28 AM
Received 20 Votes on 15 Posts
I've been using an Ooma VOIP system for almost 5 years with good results. I paid approximately $80 for the Ooma and my monthly phone bill is $4.98 (Federal & state taxes). If you want to use Google Voice, the Obihai line of equipment is reasonably priced and is supposed to work well with GV. The Obihai OBi200 sells for around $50.

Old 10-12-18, 07:46 AM
F
does ooma have a website where you can sign up and find out how to use it and port a number from my old company? do you have the original ooma or an upgraded version? I want to keep my old number. thanks for the info. I was checking into this and found google voice doesn't have any site to tell you how to hook it up and port your old no.

Old 10-12-18, 10:22 AM
T
Received 9 Votes on 8 Posts
Oh, by the way...

If you don't have an alarm system that uses your phone lines, you can stop reading here.

Be aware that alarm communications via phone and VOIP do not play well together ("almost never" might be more accurate). Regardless of what company you might choose, remember that their primary goal is to sign you up.

You might want to talk to talk to your alarm provider.

Old 10-12-18, 10:51 AM
H
Received 71 Votes on 62 Posts
I see that google voice is fairly popular and inexpensive.