Erratic internet connections

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-13-19, 08:18 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Western NY on edge of eastern Lake Erie (not NYC)
Posts: 6,584
Erratic internet connections

Should I be concerned and contact my ISP?
Lately I have been getting intermittent connectivity to the internet. They last from seconds to maybe up to a minute. My computer tells me I'm connected but I get these "loading" the web site including this site. Here is a pic of the latest broadband speed test. The problem is most persistent viewing Spectrum live TV on the computer.

 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-13-19, 09:01 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 19,008
Yes, contact your provider. They will likely tell you nothing is wrong on their end, maybe tell you to re-boot your modem then ask if you want to schedule a paid service call with one of their technicians.
 
  #3  
Old 03-13-19, 12:01 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,039
Originally Posted by Norm201
Should I be concerned and contact my ISP?
How old is the router?
How many devices on the network?

I've seen problems with 10-year-old routers which have tiny NAT tables, they accumulate lots of IP addresses and then can't load new ones.

Any trees down or telephone pole problems nearby?
 
  #4  
Old 03-13-19, 12:50 PM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Western NY on edge of eastern Lake Erie (not NYC)
Posts: 6,584
The router is about 3 years old (A LINKSYS EA6100).
But, yes I do have a number of items tapping off it. But until now I never had a problem.
Probably should do a restart. But I have had power outages this past winter which is pretty much the same thing as a restart.

But looking at the latest speed check, I think Spectrum is throttling back more and more.
 
  #5  
Old 03-14-19, 07:43 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,039
Originally Posted by Norm201

I do have a number of items tapping off it.
If you have multiple Win-10 machines, check that Windows-10 "update over lan" is enabled. This prevents, say, 4 computers all downloading the same 4 gig upgrade at the same time.

Also helps (in Win-10) to open task manager, click Performance tab, start "Resource Monitor" and see what is actually happening on network...
 
  #6  
Old 03-14-19, 08:34 AM
Dawter's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 221
When I saw the word SPECTRUM I said, AH HA!
I just got off the phone with them because of intermittent internet.
The Techs have been out twice to fix it at no charge. It's still not fixed.
First they said there's water in the line...came out- supposedly fixed it up in the air on a boom(?)
Still intermittent at the most inconvenient of times.
Sent another Tech out. He replaced the line from the house to the pole as he said it was old.
Still intermittent at the most inconvenient of times.
Today on the phone a tech said it may be the router.
I rebooted the router and viola! I have internet.
 
  #7  
Old 03-14-19, 08:46 AM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Euclid, Oh
Posts: 332
What Service are you paying for?

There is a way to look at your signal strength (and they can do it remotely) from your Cable Modem.

A bad connection or too many splitters can cause a problem.

https://www.speedguide.net/faq/what-...idered-good-78
 
  #8  
Old 03-14-19, 09:01 AM
Dawter's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 221
I have internet only with Spectrum. There is one splitter on my cable line because it was too short to reach my desk.
The Spectrum techs have both said everything in the house is good. They too checked the connections.
I will take a look at the link you provided.
To me, my speeds are good. I don't need it any faster. It's only the connection I'm having fits with. Thank you for your help.
 
  #9  
Old 03-14-19, 10:57 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 492
Check for a firmware update for your router.

How are you connecting to the internet? Wireless or wired?
 
  #10  
Old 03-14-19, 01:29 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,905
Norm

Look at your modem manual and you should find an adress you can use with your browser to access some of the modems internal statistics. Example of address you type in your address bar:

http://192.168.100.1

That should allow you to see some of the modems data concerning signal strength, power levels, noise, etc. That might shed some light. There are known acceptable limits for these values and out of range values would indicate a problem.

Example of a report, which is a snapshot in time:
 
Attached Images  
  #11  
Old 03-14-19, 02:28 PM
Dawter's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 221
If you're asking me I connect by cable.
 
  #12  
Old 03-14-19, 03:44 PM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Western NY on edge of eastern Lake Erie (not NYC)
Posts: 6,584
I'm connected both by Ethernet (main computer) and wireless with all my cams and laptops (3 laptops mine, wife and daughter).

Yes I have access to the modem stats, but they all seem normal. The only questionable thing is the speed as I pictured in my 1st post.

BTW...I did hear that Spectrum was in fact having some technical difficulties in my area this past few days. I'll wait and see.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes