Linux OS

Old 03-22-19, 05:04 PM
Linux OS

Searching for an alternative to Windows OS but the variety of Linux/Ubuntu OS's is mind boggling. I’m looking for something as close to Windows GUI as possible and I think the Chalet 16.04.2 or Linux Mint 19.1 are pretty close to what I want. Both have nice Desktop, Menus and File explorer

I gave them a spin and I think they are both pretty good but I find the Chalet much easier on my first try.

Are you guys can suggest anything better?

Sponsored Links
Old 03-22-19, 06:25 PM
Group Moderator
I have been using PCLinuxOS as my only OS for over ten years and find it to be a great OS. Nice thing is it is constantly updating through its software depository so you always have the latest version without reinstalling. If you want you can make a live DVD or USB flash drive and try it without installing. Note too the people answering in the forum in many cases are the same people who maintain the OS. http://www.pclinuxos.com/about/

Old 03-22-19, 07:13 PM
Thanks Ray but I think PCLinux runs mostly with scripts. Does it have a Desktop and StartMenu? I dont mind to learn a bit but I dont want to start learning a new OS scripts

As I mentioned I would like to have something looking similar to Windows

Old 03-22-19, 08:20 PM
Group Moderator
By start menu do you mean a menu to select applications? If so yes. Not sure what a desktop menu is. You can place shortcuts on the desktop. Personally I run with nothing but wallpaper. I use shortcut keys. I don't have a clue about scripts or why they are good or bad,

I am not really very savvy about what you are asking. I'd suggest you ask in the forums at PCLOS. PCLinuxOS-Forums - Index

I posted your question at: https://www.pclinuxos.com/forum/inde...6.new.html#new if you want to check for replies.

Old 03-22-19, 08:27 PM
Group Moderator