cable modem speed fast but computer SLOW

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-27-01, 05:39 PM
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I've recently hooked a cable modem and to make a long story short. There is 900K + coming out of the modem to the cable tech's laptop. When he hooked up to my computer we're only getting 345K.
I've got an AMD-6K chip I think is compariable to a pentium III (not sure) also have 96 meg of RAM and plenty of hard drive space. Is there way to check my system and to get to run at the 900+ K that is coming out of the modem.

Thanks,
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-29-01, 04:35 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: ottawa canada
Posts: 1,165
That is still a lot faster than you could ever achieve with dial-up, but is a big difference in speed achieved between the 2 computers.

1. If any cable has been changed connecting to the modem , that could affect speed. To compare keep the modem hookup /wires/cable the same and only move the same network cable to the the next computer.

2. Different type of network card in each computer ?

What have you got running when windows start up ? Is what automatily starts different than on the laptop ?

Have you tried download speeds, download something from a known good site, try with both computers, is the speed different ? You must try in the same time period, even with DSL or cable , speeds do fluctuate depending on internet demand.

 
  #3  
Old 05-29-01, 10:30 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: ottawa canada
Posts: 1,165
received email as follows.....


This is the message:

I think I've determined that the settings for
TCP, Time Stamping, Path MTU discovery,MaxMTU etc.
need to be changed but I know what these are or how to change them. Can you help?
Thanks,,

------------

http://www.cbs-soft.com/download/index.htm

There is a trial version on here , set to lan it should set your mtu setting.

I beleive for a lan /cable MTU is 1500 and for dial up is 576.

Let me know if this helps , if not I will look further.
 
  #4  
Old 05-30-01, 06:21 PM
bigmike
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Cool Buss speed

The Buss speed of the mother board will effect cable modem speed. I personal great differences between a 66 Mhz board and a 100 plus Mhz board...
 
  #5  
Old 05-30-01, 06:42 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: ottawa canada
Posts: 1,165
Re: Buss speed

Yes that is another point, Even though my motherboard supports 100 mhz bus, I have it set for 66 because of the cpu I have in it, so I am not sure how much of a speed gain you get thru a higher bus speed.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes