flickering streaming TV picture.

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-06-19, 07:23 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 7,488
Received 77 Votes on 71 Posts
flickering streaming TV picture.

Maybe someone might be able to hazard a guess as to what is going on.

I use two monitors (TV’s actually) for my computer set up. On one I do my main thing (browsing, spreadsheets, forums, etc…). The other is mainly for TV show streaming or SiriusXM. I have Spectrum as my Internet server. I will typically use Chrome or VIVALDI browsers to watch the TV. As of late the video pixelates, flickers and jumps on the TV streaming. Even if I use Firefox. It even happens when I use the “main” monitor. All other electronics using the Internet signal appears to be working fine.

Is this a poor signal or what?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-06-19, 08:28 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,230
Received 379 Votes on 356 Posts
As far as I know..... Vivaldi is a Chrome based browser.
What TV are you trying to stream...... networks ?
 
  #3  
Old 11-07-19, 06:08 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 7,488
Received 77 Votes on 71 Posts
Yes, any current TV program (FOX News mainly ). This just started about a week ago.
 
  #4  
Old 11-07-19, 06:32 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,264
Received 28 Votes on 23 Posts
Sounds like a bandwidth issue.

Try changing the settings from "auto" to some lower rate, see if that makes a difference.

Also, some cable-tv providers seem to throttle video-over-internet for channels they broadcast. I can't say for certain, but I HAVE noticed that with VERIZON, that streaming the local ABC/CBS/NBC/FOX stations in a browser from the webpage of those stations tends to be jerky, stutters and sometimes stops, but those same stations work fine when viewed from the VERIZON webpage.
 
  #5  
Old 11-07-19, 06:58 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 7,488
Received 77 Votes on 71 Posts
Hal, What do mean by change from auto to a lower rate? What setting are you referring to?
 
  #6  
Old 11-07-19, 07:22 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 381
Received 34 Votes on 33 Posts
Are both browsers up to date?

Are your video drivers up to date?
 
  #7  
Old 11-07-19, 07:33 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 7,488
Received 77 Votes on 71 Posts
Yes to both questions. I'm currently trying to locate my bandwidth settings on my router to make adjustments.
 
  #8  
Old 11-07-19, 09:23 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 381
Received 34 Votes on 33 Posts
Are you hard wired or using WiFi?

Also have you run a speed check?
 
  #9  
Old 11-07-19, 09:48 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 7,488
Received 77 Votes on 71 Posts
Hard wired and speed checks out fine. Same as the last six months
 
  #10  
Old 11-07-19, 12:20 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,264
Received 28 Votes on 23 Posts
change from auto to a lower rate?
Many browsers and sites have a "quality" setting for video, AUTO will use as much bandwith as is available, settings generally listed by pixels, e.g. 4k is 4320,. HD is 1080, half-hd is 720p, while TV is 480
 
  #11  
Old 11-07-19, 02:03 PM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 7,488
Received 77 Votes on 71 Posts
Problem identified but not resolved!

Called Spectrum. They are aware of the problem and it's on their end. Apparently many people have complained. Their engineers are working on the problem. For what ever reason the raw signal that would normally go through the cable box and filtered from there for cable TV is not being filtered on their Internet signal via streaming. He told me it started with the News feeds including their own and has since migrated to other channels. He told me to periodically check it. When no more pixlatting and flicker stopped , that's how I'll know it's fixed. He did not have any time table.

At least I know it's not equipment!
 
  #12  
Old 11-08-19, 06:35 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 7,488
Received 77 Votes on 71 Posts
Funny how a day later problem is fixed!
 
  #13  
Old 11-08-19, 10:56 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,693
Received 29 Votes on 28 Posts
Funny how a day later problem is fixed!
Problem? What problem? We don't have record of any problem.
 
CircuitBreaker voted this post useful.
  #14  
Old 11-08-19, 03:12 PM
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Trumbull, CT, USA
Posts: 413
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Lol! @ Zorfdt so true
I also have the Charter (AKA Spectrum) triple play
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: