Can you please recommend a multimeter?

Old 11-07-19, 05:36 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can you please recommend a multimeter?

Hello all. I am looking for a reliable multimeter but I don't want to spend a whole lot of money for a unit that has features I'll never use. I am not an electrician, just an amateur that does around the house repairs (simple ones when it comes to electricity) and minor work on my vehicles. I'm tempted to bite the bullet and buy a Fluke 117 but I'm not sure if that's overkill or not. Can some of you please give me some advice on brands and models based on your personal experiences?

Thanks,
Robert

Sponsored Links

Popular Reply

11-08-19, 05:50 AM
beelzebob
Received 33 Votes on 28 Posts
If you have a Harbor Freight nearby, check their ads. Sometimes they give a ($5-$10) digital multi-meter free with any purchase. It has most features a homeowner would need. You don't need accuracy.

Old 11-07-19, 05:49 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 11 Votes on 7 Posts
I'm no electrician by any means. Just a guy that piddles around the house.

I have 3 of these: https://www.harborfreight.com/7-func...ter-63759.html

I have one of these ... I think: https://www.harborfreight.com/dm600-...ter-64014.html

I use them for voltage only.... DC & AC. Its all I know about. They've served me well for my limited electrical knowledge.

The real guys can give you good advice on different items.

oaklandraider76 voted this post useful.
Old 11-07-19, 06:41 PM
Received 77 Votes on 71 Posts
I agree with Dixie. That 1st one. All you need is what he suggested. It will do more than you need. It's what I use and only occasionally. And in most cases it's only for continuity. Occasionally for voltage measurements. Actually an analog would be even a better choice. You don't usually need specific digital numbers, but just an indication of the voltage or ohms or current. But either type is fine.

Old 11-07-19, 07:05 PM
Group Moderator
Received 379 Votes on 356 Posts