Chromebook or Laptop for remote learning school year?

Old 08-17-20, 11:01 PM
D
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Chromebook or Laptop for remote learning school year?

I am going to need at least one (maybe two) more computers for my kids to do online school this year. One is in 5th grade so I would at least like to get one for her and the other is in first grade so she could use one of my other ones but I may end up getting two. I am trying to decide if I should get another laptop (not too expensive, in the $500-600 range) or if I should just get a Chromebook (or maybe even 2). Everything is web based as far as I know and I do have an Office subscription for the family so I think that would work with either the web office or even the app. If I just got a $300 Chromebook, is that going to be good? With something that inexpensive, I wouldn't have to worry about her keeping it in her room all the time or anything. What do you guys think? I have no experience with Chromebooks.

Old 08-18-20, 12:35 AM
Received 996 Likes on 905 Posts
Our district passed a big millage for all students to have laptops several years ago, they all got chrome books. Out opinion was they were junk.

The biggest complaint I had was they used all the chrome operating software for word, spreadsheet etc, nothing was compatible to anything used in real work environment so could not help the kids with even basic functionality.

Eventually they will switch and have to relearn all those programs!

Old 08-18-20, 05:43 AM
P
Group Moderator
Received 1,628 Likes on 1,461 Posts
I would go for an inexpensive computer/laptop over a more well loaded Chrome Book.

Old 08-18-20, 06:16 AM
H
Received 260 Likes on 222 Posts
I've converted a pair of ten-year old netbooks (2Gb memory) to Chromebooks.
Simply popped in SSD drives and installing the "CloudReady" (Chromium-clone) operating system.