Chromebooks

Old 06-25-21, 06:14 AM
P
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Chromebooks

My wife has had a Chromebook for years. It is no longer supported by Google as of June 2022.
It is perfect for one who runs off of their internet in the house and is not too techy. it takes care of itself, is very secure, and can do as much as you ask it to do.
You can pay $200 but you get what you pay for-16GB RAM, SSD not emme and 128GB storage runs about $550.
We have an Acer and never any trouble, This was a low end, Does anyone else have one they wish to suggest as a replacement?

Old 06-25-21, 07:10 PM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 339 Likes on 305 Posts
I've had good luck with HP chromebooks. But one of the really nice things about Chromebooks is that they run really well on middle-of-the-road hardware.

Old 06-26-21, 01:24 AM
Received 996 Likes on 905 Posts
Our school district gives these to our kids, working as an engineer I feel they are pieces of junk, especially the software that they come with, not compatible with anything and a terrible introduction to the computing world.

Now that my kids are older and have decent Windows based lap tops they confirm those things were only good for shielding snow balls and carrying their lunch's to the table!

Old 07-01-21, 07:12 AM
P
Piece of junk is an inappropriate term within the context of this conversation.
An engineer should have more intelligence than to contribute negative comments.
They serve their place and for some people and for some job types are a meaningful tool. We are not sending a rocket to space here.
Not everyone can afford a high end device yet need to accomplish a task which this dies well.
You have taken this out of context.

The following users liked this post:
Old 07-01-21, 02:22 PM
As an engineer, I will provide my best engineering evaluation, they are crap!

Old 07-01-21, 03:14 PM
P
Elitism

Your attitude smacks of elitism.

Old 07-01-21, 05:04 PM
Your attitude smacks of elitism.
No, it's called reality!