Monitor trouble

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-04-01, 06:10 PM
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Unhappy

I have a Gateway PC about 2 years old.My Monitor has been acting up lately,but once I restarted it went back to normal.Yesterday however it just stayed black screen.The power (on and off button)keeps blinking (green),but thats all it does.I checked my cable connections,did all the troubleshooters...and no sucess.I got on with a tech.person,and he said he couldn't help me and transferd me to a person who wanted to purchase a new Monitor.I don't want a new one,unless I have to get one and I feel like they don't want to help because they rather have me buy one.Should I take this to somebody and have it checked,is there anything I can do to see if it's the Monitor and if so is it really broken or what should I do? Any help would be greatly appriciated.Thank you
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-05-01, 03:26 AM
abNORMal's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: New Jersey USA
Posts: 536
You probably don't need a new monitor.

When does this happen?

Does this occur when the computer is idle for a while, and you are trying to "wake it up"?

If so, there are a couple of things you can check out:

If you have background software running which has anything to do with the monitor, like a TV card, it may be the culprit. Check the icons at the bottom right. Exit anything like that.

Check your power management settings in the bios. Try it with power management turned off.

Check the screen saver settings. Try using "None".

If you do one of these at a time, you should find the problem. If it's a background program, use msconfig to stop loading it at startup.

 
  #3  
Old 07-05-01, 05:07 AM
BSB's Avatar
BSB
BSB is offline
Member
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: GB, WI
Posts: 782
My Mag Innovison did the same thing, cept I didnt let it wear its self out, I helped it by putting it under the bathroom with a leaky drain pipe. Needless to say when I get home I get to listen to it go fzz, pff, pftz when I turned it on. Took it to a repair shop (hundreds here in atlanta) for $60 they replaced a diode and a few other components and I was on my way. Been 3 years since and still works like new. I just wish it was the 19" version instead of the 15".

Brian
 
  #4  
Old 07-05-01, 10:01 AM
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Lightbulb

Try plugging in the Monitor to a different outlet on a different circuit in your house. Keep it hooked up to your computer. Monitors are very picky when it comes to power. I have seen this happen several times before. Let me know if that makes it work. John
 
  #5  
Old 07-05-01, 06:23 PM
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thumbs down Monitor

I want to thank everybody for their help.Unfortunally I still had no luck,except this morning as I turned my PC on,the Monitor came on too...but only for about 5 minutes and then it went black again.This is really getting a bit frustrating.
 
  #6  
Old 07-06-01, 04:59 AM
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Before you buy a new monitor you should try hooking up yours to another computer ( a friends of family members ) and see if it works then. If the light is still blinking but the monitor won't power all the way up then yours is working it is just staying in standby mode. Monitors generally last about 10 years. Most monitors have a three year warrantee.
 
  #7  
Old 07-06-01, 07:55 AM
bigmike
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Cool Good post

Good answers guys but one we forgot, the video card could cause this also. By the blinking light on it is in standby mode. If the video card has failed that will cause that. So it has been mentioned to hook it up to another computer. Do that, take it to a computer shop and see if they will let you/them plug it into something else. Even if the monitor is bad it will not hurt the other computer. If it works a video card is much cheaper than a new monitor. If you have a Gateway store in town they will do it for sure! I like Gateway, they treat their customers like people not just dollars!
 
  #8  
Old 07-06-01, 12:16 PM
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thumbs down Running out of Ideas

Sat up last night,tried all the things I know and still nothing.I did hook it up to my Sons,but it did the same thing......black screen.I did all the check ups twice now,and I'm pretty much at the end of my rope.Unfortunally I don't have a Gateway store in my town,I had a few Tech People online......and they ALL wanted to sell me a new Monitor !!!!
I wanna thank everybody for your help.....if I somehow come up with another solution and it works...I will let you know.Thanks to everybody
 
  #9  
Old 07-06-01, 06:09 PM
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I know that this won't work on your computer ( since you tried the monitor on another computer ) but just for information. I have had several people in the last few months that have had monitor trouble like yours. On one I was able to fix the problem by plugging in the monitor to a different outlet. The others ( Dell & Gateway computers ) were caused by the modem going bad. Removing the modem solved the problem right away. I just installed new modems and they have not had any problems since.

PS. Allot of lightning trouble here in Kansas with modems
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes