Google Earth/Maps Can't Do Anything


  #1  
Old 09-22-22, 02:21 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,533
Upvotes: 0
Received 279 Upvotes on 255 Posts
Google Earth/Maps Can't Do Anything

Just started to use Google Earth. Entered an address to search for.
A square map comes up in the window the desired address pinned in the middle, with black bars to the left and right of the map.
No menu bar, no controls off to the side, no street view, zoom, etc. icons at the lower right.
Click on the map and nothing happens.
Click on the black bar outside the map and nothing happens.

Worked with all of the controls two weeks ago when I last used it.

Using a Dell PC with Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, and Firefox 105.0
 

Top Answer

 
09-22-22, 02:33 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
XSleeper
XSleeper is online now
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 27,121
Received 1,924 Upvotes on 1,728 Posts
IMO Google Earth sucks. I simply use google.com and enter an address, then click on the resulting "street view" photo... and click on the resulting image to move up or down the street as needed. If you click on the street in the larger image it gives you the option to move down the street in either direction.
 
  #2  
Old 09-22-22, 02:29 PM
D
Group Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,757
Received 258 Upvotes on 206 Posts
Mine seems to be working fine. Just start with the basics. Have you restarted your computer. Maybe just a glitch with your computer, the program etc.
 
  #3  
Old 09-22-22, 02:33 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 27,121
Received 1,924 Upvotes on 1,728 Posts
IMO Google Earth sucks. I simply use google.com and enter an address, then click on the resulting "street view" photo... and click on the resulting image to move up or down the street as needed. If you click on the street in the larger image it gives you the option to move down the street in either direction.
 
CircuitBreaker, Norm201 voted this post useful.
  #4  
Old 09-23-22, 05:46 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 27,793
Received 2,187 Upvotes on 1,957 Posts
I have had trouble with Google when running a old video card. Some of the compression they now use is not supported by some older cards.
 
  #5  
Old 09-23-22, 08:32 AM
C
Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,505
Received 351 Upvotes on 294 Posts
My Google Earth Pro is working normally.

It is not intended to be a street view program. It's an aerial view of the earth.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: