Sterling h224: audio interface


  #1  
Old 09-26-22, 11:45 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 50
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Sterling h224: audio interface

I have a Sterling h224, interface recorder & I'm having difficulty, getting it to function, is anyone out there have any experience with this?I'd greatly appreciate any advice, thanks!
 
  #2  
Old 09-26-22, 11:51 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,951
Received 3,169 Likes on 2,846 Posts
Not that exact unit but something similar.
That's an audio mixer that connects to the computer via USB.
Mine came with a disc.

Have you connected it to your computer and loaded the software ?
Sterling audio
 
  #3  
Old 09-27-22, 06:24 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 50
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Sterling h224

Yes, my issue is I'm able to record a soundtrack, but can't mix my singing voice with the track, & I took back to store & the guy said I have too many files in the background on laptop interference, does this sound logical to you? Thanks for your reply!
 
  #4  
Old 09-27-22, 04:39 PM
Z
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,652
Received 87 Likes on 81 Posts
Well I donít know what anyone else thinks, but to me that doesnít seem to make any sense at all. I donít know what ďfiles in the backgroundĒ would mean. Maybe he meant too much other software running on the laptop in the background while the h224 App(s) were running, and that software was interfering somehow with the h224 App(s).

That could slow down performance of the h224 App(s), but I donít see how that would completely eliminate a combining function. I could understand a poor ďreal timeĒ performance somehow if the laptop processor was overloaded, but I donít see how a function could just be dropped.

But maybe I donít understand the device. Maybe itís very sensitive to which inputs it pays attention to. (But that seems farfetched I guess.)
 
  #5  
Old 09-27-22, 07:18 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,951
Received 3,169 Likes on 2,846 Posts
I agree.... that explanation makes absolutely no sense.
That unit is used to convert analog signals to digital so that a program can use the digital signal.

You would need to be running a program where you'd import a music track and import the digital signal from the audio interface. Some type of digital mixer program.
 
  #6  
Old 09-28-22, 08:36 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 50
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Remedy please!

What are the best remedies to this problem, I'm open for suggestions, Thank u!

 
  #7  
Old 09-28-22, 10:30 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,951
Received 3,169 Likes on 2,846 Posts
I left you a link to NCH. This an Australian based company that has great products at a good price. They also supply very good technical service. I use several of their products and have been 100% satisfied.
NCH software

Although I have never used it.... Audacity is supposed to be very good.
I believe it's open source and free. Might be a good place to start.
Audacity
 
  #8  
Old 09-29-22, 12:40 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 50
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I already do have audacity, the problem is that it records the music, track but will not record my voice? Thanks!
 
  #9  
Old 09-29-22, 02:08 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 50
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Sterling h224

I already have audacity loaded& the issue I'm having is that I can record the music track, but I can't record my singing voice! Thank u!
 
  #10  
Old 09-29-22, 06:58 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,951
Received 3,169 Likes on 2,846 Posts
You need to record the mic audio into the computer as a file.
What O/S are you using ?

Here's a tutorial for recording in W10 and how to record mic audio in Audacity.
Kevin Stratvert voice recording tutorial
 
  #11  
Old 10-02-22, 05:36 PM
WRDIY's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,093
Received 38 Likes on 36 Posts
I have not used Audacity for a while but years ago, I was able to overlap audio. Like PJMax has mentioned, did you plug your microphone into the mic jack (pink) of your computer?

https://i.redd.it/hwo56km0bajz.jpg

You can try to plug your mic into the pink jack and your Sterling h224 (output) into the blue jack of the computer sound board. Audacity should be able to record both from the Pink and Blue jacks.
 

Last edited by WRDIY; 10-02-22 at 07:45 PM.
  #12  
Old 10-03-22, 06:36 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 50
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Re Sterling h224

I already have audacity, the issue is that I can record the music track but not able to record my voice to mix with the track. Thank you!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: