My laptop can not find my new router


  #1  
Old 05-23-24, 09:14 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 199
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
My laptop can not find my new router

During working on my laptop, internet connection was lost. After several trying, the route is replaced a new route, METGEAR WiFi Route AC 2400. I resetting my laptop, doing trouble shooting, the laptop can not find any nearby WiFi route anymore. Wondering new route, I connect my I-phone, I-pad and desk PC, each one could find new route easily and connect to internet. What is wrong with my laptop, any thoughts? Thanks



 

Last edited by PJmax; 05-23-24 at 08:36 PM. Reason: hosted and posted pics by PJmax
  #2  
Old 05-23-24, 11:00 AM
S
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,186
Received 1,280 Upvotes on 1,218 Posts
Do you mean "router" when you say "route?"
 
  #3  
Old 05-23-24, 08:25 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,707
Received 4,104 Upvotes on 3,686 Posts
Is your WiFi turned on in the laptop ?
If yes..... click on the WiFi symbol in the bottom right and you should see your new router ID in a list.
Click on that and enter the router password.

Locating Wifi help video
 
  #4  
Old 05-24-24, 06:05 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 199
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
I right click at right bottom “Global” symble, then click “open Network & Internet settings”, nothing shows as attached picture.


 

Last edited by wen831; 05-24-24 at 07:59 AM.
  #5  
Old 05-24-24, 08:04 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 199
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
I went to network connections, then went to WIFI, click Connect/disconnect, try to connect, but nothing happens. What is wrong I am doing? Thanks


 
  #6  
Old 05-24-24, 09:49 AM
Z
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,431
Received 134 Upvotes on 125 Posts
You could check your WiFi adapter, although I don't think that should change on its own. But it can't hurt to check.

You need to go into "Device Manager" and under "Network Adapters" see what the status of your WiFi adapter is.
 
  #7  
Old 05-24-24, 10:03 AM
Shadeladie's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: PA - USA
Posts: 4,932
Received 402 Upvotes on 329 Posts
If you go into Network and Internet settings, is WIFI turned on and Airplane Mode turned off (I think what zoesdad is asking)?

I guess you've tried resetting your router (sorry, it's not clear in your posts if you did or not)?
 
  #8  
Old 05-24-24, 10:10 AM
Bob14525's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,646
Received 82 Upvotes on 72 Posts
One possible issue is if your new router supports WiFi 6 and the wireless adapter in your laptop doesn't. You might check your router settings and make sure that it's setup for 802.11b/g/n/ax mixed.
 
  #9  
Old 05-24-24, 01:22 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 199
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
zoesdad
I go to “Network adapter”, there is no WiFi adapter shown, as attached picture. Please advise me how to get it. I have try fn+f12 to turn on WiFi, no lucky, too.

It is strange, that my internet worked well before router was broken. Purchased a new one, all devices such as desk pc, I pad, I phone work well, but my laptop.

 
  #10  
Old 05-24-24, 02:39 PM
Z
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,431
Received 134 Upvotes on 125 Posts
Type device manager, In the search box on the taskbar, then select Device Manager.

You should see "Network Adapters" listed. If you look under Network Adapters you should see your adapter listed. If you double-click on your adapter you should see the popup that will tell you the adapter status.

It may be, however, what Bob is thinking: your new router may have a compatibility problem with the laptop. But that should be detectable with some further analysis.
 
  #11  
Old 05-24-24, 03:53 PM
Z
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,431
Received 134 Upvotes on 125 Posts
Another thing to check which is quick, is the IP address of your laptop. To make sure that looks OK.

If you type "Command Prompt" in the taskbar search box and then select "Command Prompt" , you can then type in "ipconfig /all".

You should see information that looks like this:

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : VICS-PC

Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :

Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid

IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No



Ethernet adapter Ethernet:



Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek Gaming 2.5GbE Family Controller

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 58-11-22-A4-1B-1F

DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::fec2:a796:b5db:4d72%7(Preferred)

IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2(Preferred)

Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0

Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, May 23, 2024 7:43:57 AM

Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, May 25, 2024 6:42:01 PM

Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 106434850

DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-2B-24-EC-66-58-11-22-A4-1B-1F

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
You can direct the above output to a file if you want by typing:

"ipconfig /all > ipconfigall.txt"




 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: