Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Computer clenup!!


's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

07-21-01, 07:51 AM   #1  
I don't know much about computers. I got a Compaq presario
that every now and then will lock. some advs me i should clean it up. how can i go by doing this? (compaq presario 5304) HELP!!

 
Sponsored Links
Jackofalltradez's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation

Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 186

07-21-01, 08:12 AM   #2  
Need more info about your Presario system:

Operating System? 95?, 98?, etc.

If so, find following information(Memory(RAM), Processor type, Hard disk space available)via the following menu hops:

START > Settings > Control Panel

Double click on "System" Icon. Select General Tab at top, will show processor type, etc.

Performance Tab will show Memory, system resources %available, etc.

Double-click "My Computer" icon on your desktop. Right-click once on your hard-drive(C. Left-click once on Properties. This should show you available space on the drive.

If need be I'll point you to Scan Disk and Disk Defragmenter, but first:

What're you using when system locks up?


-Chris

 
Jackofalltradez's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation

Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 186

07-21-01, 08:14 AM   #3  
Sorry about the smiley face - that was C colon! The standard letter for most harddrives!

-Chris

 
bigmike's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

07-21-01, 12:46 PM   #4  
bigmike
Compaq

You also may want to contact Compaq. I saw on CNN that there is a problem with the Presario OS and they have have a fix for it.

 
dkerr's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 1,165
CANADA

07-21-01, 04:27 PM   #5  
http://www.compaq.com/support/

this is the compaq support site, check them out.

Did you have this problem from day 1 since you got the computer ? Does it happen only when using a perticular piece of software ?

If it was ok at the beginning that what was installed / updated/uninstalled since the last time it worked fine to present ?

 
Jackofalltradez's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation

Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 186

07-22-01, 08:00 AM   #6  
The roof the roof is on FIYAHH!

nice animation d-says it all!

-Chris

 
's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

07-23-01, 06:07 AM   #7  
yes! to your question dkerr. since day one. and it does this
when i do anything. some time works like a champ and some time it become mad.. i will give compaq tech. support a call.
Thanks guy's!!

 
Search this Thread