Computer clenup!!

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-21-01, 07:51 AM
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question

I don't know much about computers. I got a Compaq presario
that every now and then will lock. some advs me i should clean it up. how can i go by doing this? (compaq presario 5304) HELP!!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-21-01, 08:12 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 186
Lightbulb

Need more info about your Presario system:

Operating System? 95?, 98?, etc.

If so, find following information(Memory(RAM), Processor type, Hard disk space available)via the following menu hops:

START > Settings > Control Panel

Double click on "System" Icon. Select General Tab at top, will show processor type, etc.

Performance Tab will show Memory, system resources %available, etc.

Double-click "My Computer" icon on your desktop. Right-click once on your hard-drive(C. Left-click once on Properties. This should show you available space on the drive.

If need be I'll point you to Scan Disk and Disk Defragmenter, but first:

What're you using when system locks up?


-Chris
 
  #3  
Old 07-21-01, 08:14 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 186
Sorry about the smiley face - that was C colon! The standard letter for most harddrives!

-Chris
 
  #4  
Old 07-21-01, 12:46 PM
bigmike
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Cool Compaq

You also may want to contact Compaq. I saw on CNN that there is a problem with the Presario OS and they have have a fix for it.
 
  #5  
Old 07-21-01, 04:27 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: ottawa canada
Posts: 1,165
http://www.compaq.com/support/

this is the compaq support site, check them out.

Did you have this problem from day 1 since you got the computer ? Does it happen only when using a perticular piece of software ?

If it was ok at the beginning that what was installed / updated/uninstalled since the last time it worked fine to present ?
 
  #6  
Old 07-22-01, 08:00 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 186
Talking The roof the roof is on FIYAHH!

nice animation d-says it all!

-Chris
 
  #7  
Old 07-23-01, 06:07 AM
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
yes! to your question dkerr. since day one. and it does this
when i do anything. some time works like a champ and some time it become mad.. i will give compaq tech. support a call.
Thanks guy's!!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes