deleting entries in Run Window

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-22-01, 06:10 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Philadephia
Posts: 468
Hello, everyone: I just got a WindowsXP and my friend got a WindowsME, Well, anyway we just took his out of the box and it did not look like a return! I wanted to check somethings out and I went to the RUN WINDOW and started to type Sys. and about 6 PORNO sites came up and my friend wants them off his computer. I tried right clicking and deleting them and that did not work, I thought those things automatically deleted when re-booting? Maybe Big Mike has a registry trick or maybe someone knows how to do this please let me know Thanks, TOM
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-23-01, 12:52 AM
mikejmerritt
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Tom, Look here:HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\RunMRU
This came from a machine running ME but I did find the same tree on my 98se. The only problem is mine said "No Value Set" and I do have entries in the dropdown in question. Turning off AutoComplete should stop the entries from popping up as he starts to type but will have to pursue a way to remove them....Mike
 
  #3  
Old 10-23-01, 01:41 AM
mikejmerritt
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Hey Tom, Reread your post and am now a little confused! I assume someone used the Run applet to type urls rather than the address bar(which will work) and AutoComplete is finishing the line as you begin typing. These urls when done this way don't appear in the dropdown box in the address bar like they would if you typed them there so I suppose that was the reason. That means removing them in the registry in "Typed URLS" is out of the question. As I said I will find how to clear the Run dropdown in time but until then TweakUI will do this and more for you. It is a free M$ product, though unsupported, which really means you are no worse off than a supported product and can be downloaded at M$ site, C-NET or ZDNet among others. Use the Paranoria tab(appropriatly named) and no more worries. Don't know why I didn't think of this except I should have had my head on a pillow earlier instead of surfing here....Mike
 
  #4  
Old 10-23-01, 03:51 AM
mikejmerritt
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Tom, I found it! No download or registry edit. Start, Settings, Taskbar and Start Menu, Start Menu Programs tab, under Documents Menu choose the Clear button. After a reboot the Run dropdown will be clear until typed in again....Mike
 
  #5  
Old 10-23-01, 06:29 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Philadephia
Posts: 468
Run Window?

Originally posted by mikejmerritt
Tom, I found it! No download or registry edit. Start, Settings, Taskbar and Start Menu, Start Menu Programs tab, under Documents Menu choose the Clear button. After a reboot the Run dropdown will be clear until typed in again....Mike
Thank you Very much Mike, I know it takes work to find these things out! I will try it and get back to you. Mike I have a little problem that just started when I was viewing your ANSWER, The screen was not wide enough for your words so i had to scan from left to right and when i scanned to the left the words (ON THE LEFT ONLY DISAPPEARED) IS THIS YOUR WEB SITE HAVING TROUBLE OR IS IT MY COMPUTER? Never had this happen before! Once i REFRESHED the page it was OK But would do it again if i scanned again, Any Idea's on this strange behavior? Appreciate any help!
 
  #6  
Old 10-23-01, 07:13 AM
mikejmerritt
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Tom, I don't remember what DIY forum I was in but there were a couple of threads that I had to scroll R/to/L to read. I may be wrong but I thing its a small glitch at DIY. I have much going on so if you would like email our administrator at [email protected] and let him know that this is happening. Point him to the thread we have been working in and see if he has any input. He is very quick to deal with such matters.....Mike
 
  #7  
Old 10-23-01, 10:53 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Philadephia
Posts: 468
Run Window?

Originally posted by mikejmerritt
Tom, I don't remember what DIY forum I was in but there were a couple of threads that I had to scroll R/to/L to read. I may be wrong but I thing its a small glitch at DIY. I have much going on so if you would like email our administrator at [email protected] and let him know that this is happening. Point him to the thread we have been working in and see if he has any input. He is very quick to deal with such matters.....Mike
OK Mike, I will do that right now because it is still doing it and i noticed it does not happen anywhere else. Will post back, Thank you TOM
 
  #8  
Old 10-24-01, 12:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Philadephia
Posts: 468
Re: Run Window?

Originally posted by tomtom59
Originally posted by mikejmerritt
Tom, I don't remember what DIY forum I was in but there were a couple of threads that I had to scroll R/to/L to read. I may be wrong but I thing its a small glitch at DIY. I have much going on so if you would like email our administrator at [email protected] and let him know that this is happening. Point him to the thread we have been working in and see if he has any input. He is very quick to deal with such matters.....Mike
OK Mike, I will do that right now because it is still doing it and i noticed it does not happen anywhere else. Will post back, Thank you TOM
Mike, I have a correction to make, I get the disappearing printing when i scroll on any wide printed screen! I went to 3 different web sites and it did the same thing! When i scroll from left to right and come back to center then the printing is missing on the left side of screen but when i refresh the page it ALL comes back as normal. I hope this isn't my New windows xp Computer doing this? ANY IDEA'S could use the HELP, TOM
 
  #9  
Old 11-05-01, 06:43 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Philadephia
Posts: 468
Re: Re: Run Window?

Originally posted by tomtom59
Originally posted by tomtom59
Originally posted by mikejmerritt
Tom, I don't remember what DIY forum I was in but there were a couple of threads that I had to scroll R/to/L to read. I may be wrong but I thing its a small glitch at DIY. I have much going on so if you would like email our administrator at [email protected] and let him know that this is happening. Point him to the thread we have been working in and see if he has any input. He is very quick to deal with such matters.....Mike
OK Mike, I will do that right now because it is still doing it and i noticed it does not happen anywhere else. Will post back, Thank you TOM
Mike, I have a correction to make, I get the disappearing printing when i scroll on any wide printed screen! I went to 3 different web sites and it did the same thing! When i scroll from left to right and come back to center then the printing is missing on the left side of screen but when i refresh the page it ALL comes back as normal. I hope this isn't my New windows xp Computer doing this? ANY IDEA'S could use the HELP, TOM
Well, after extensive looking into I have found out that the problem was my windowsxp Because it was one of the first ones out and there was a known(by HP) BUG in the video driver, They gave me the run around and would not answer my Questions or explain to me How to correct this, so i took it back and got a new one and this one works perfectly SO FAR. I suggest anyone has this same problem to take it back for a replacement right away! By the way on one of the threads at this forum someone mentioned they wanted to run there XP like the 9X! You can Switch to CLASSIC MODE WITH THE XP and it brings back the features you had in earlier OS, Thanks Mike, and ALL for your input.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes