adding memory

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-26-01, 12:20 PM
jt
jt is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 33
adding memory

Hi,
I'am trying to add 128MB SDRAM (PNY) to my IBM Aptiva 2153 EN2, which already has 32MB. The board snaps in easily, but when I reboot I receive a fatal error message. Any suggestions?

Thanks,
JT
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-27-01, 03:35 AM
bigmike
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Cool Remove

Remove the 32 meg stick and just use the 128 and see what happens. If it doesn't work I would suspect the memory stick. PNY has a warranty. Hopefully you bought it from a big buisness like Best Buy, Circuit City. When you take it back (if u have to) take the LT with you, install the memory right in front of them. Make sure it works. This stuff is mass produced so an occasional failure is not uncommon.
 
  #3  
Old 12-27-01, 05:35 AM
jt
jt is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 33
Thumbs up

Thanks bigmike I removed the 32MB stick and just inserted the 128MB. Everything seems to be working just fine. Thanks again and Happy New Year!
 
  #4  
Old 01-02-02, 02:34 AM
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
This is a common occurence because of incompatible RAM. You have to make sure that you use the same TYPE of RAM (buffered vs. unbuffered).
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes