winsock32.dll

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-01-02, 12:08 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Philadephia
Posts: 468
winsock32.dll

Hello, Everyone: Its time for the trouble maker again! I have been having trouble with aol and they gave me instructions to perhaps one of the reasons for this trouble is to check the winsock32.dll SIZE and to make sure it is on my pc! Well anyway went into DO NOT HIDE FILES and placed a search of my who computer and it came up EMPTY! There is no winsock32.dll on this pc(according) to the search! Does anyone know how i can find the download for the .dll (pickle) and get it put on my windows XP Home edition?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-01-02, 02:32 AM
bigmike
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Cool XP sucks

Christ why did MS even bother with XP? OK, do a search of the XP disk for the winsock. I tried to find it on MS home but god forbid you try to find anything there now. It's so screwed up only a rocket scientist can use it. Try re-installing the TCP/IP stack for dialup through add remove programs in control panel. Next is to dump AOL. 1st your are being ripped off as any ISP that charges upwards of $30 for dialup is a thief. And 2ond AOL is some of the most bug infested programing out here. My opinion from years of dealing with them.
 
  #3  
Old 01-01-02, 08:29 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Philadephia
Posts: 468
Bigmike, No wonder we could not find it, aol used slang word for this .dll and called it winsock32.dll but the correct name ( i just found out) is wsock32.dll. I was told alot of people do this, but its a bad habbit to get into! You can't find anything in Microsoft knowledge base as it is! AOL almost gave me a heart attack after I could not find it on ,my pc! But i did find the correct one. By the way bigmike, everyone talks about this xp disk, i never got one with my pc. I got a disk for (word perfect trial) thats all! What is the name of the other disk you mentioned? Maye i can get them to send it to me! I believe i made a start up disk, dont know if thats what you mean? Your are right about aol, but i dont know of too many good ISP's Thank You for you help, TOM
 
  #4  
Old 01-01-02, 09:45 AM
bigmike
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Cool Winsock

Well there is a Winsock.dll, but it was not what you were looking for. The disk is the OS disk. Windows XP like other Windoze products come on a CD. I would ask for the CD and see if they will give it to you. If they ask why, give em a line, worm, virus etc. I am surprised they didn't give it to you. That is the only disk that will work with this OS, no other XP disk will work. http://dll.yaroslavl.ru/ This site is a .dll site. I meant to include it but forgot. Fighting a terrible cold... So I guess you got it up and running again? Earthlink is a good ISP and is offered nation wide. But you will have to use MS Outlook for your email or Hotmail.
 
  #5  
Old 01-01-02, 11:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Philadephia
Posts: 468
Bigmike, I found out right after i posted, that there is a winsock.dll too! I thank you for the info. Also i need help here! i just got over the and cleaned out the w32/Cholera2 virus! Now here is my problem now>>>after i am on the internet for maybe 20minutes to half hour and i leave Yahoo or any website I lose my internet explorer(at least thats what i think it is) because after that much time no matter what i click on the web page comes up CANNOT FIND SERVER and i know i am on the internet because after another half hour of trying to get a web page to come up my AOL says Goodbye(I think from in activity) Also my MOUSE starts acting funny and if i send the pointer to the bottom of the screen IT FREEZES there and it wont move until i put my pc on standby(manually) and come back! Can anyone help me with this and do you have any thoughts Bigmike? This is not heat related my pc is plenty cool(just thought id mention that) Thanks tom PS: Maybe i do still need that winsock32.dll because Yahoo mentioned it one time? Cant find it anywhere! my mouse is starting to act funny now Please help if you can?
 
  #6  
Old 01-02-02, 04:26 AM
bigmike
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Cool Problems

With all the problems you have had I would say it's time to format and re-install Windows. Actually I would go to the store and purchase either Win 98 SE or in my oppinion Win ME Corporate edition. XP was not ready to be released and is to buggy for use. Drop back to ME and go from there. Windoze can only take so much before it fails totaly. I was on a web site last night, got a re-direct and was hit with either a destructive Java script and a badly written script and had to do a System Restore. Wound up on some nasty porn site while looking for info on an antibiotic I was given. First time I have Ever had to use that feature. But as soon as I feel up to it, I am going to re-install Windoze as I got hit hard and have had some inital network problems that caused multiple lock-up's and have damaged the registry. But I have everything here and it only takes about an hour.
 
  #7  
Old 01-06-02, 08:58 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Philadephia
Posts: 468
Bigmike, I found out alot of my troubles were from a combination of a Mouse that was not compatible with my XP and Zone Alarm was not getting permission for a few things either and I was blaming it on a damaged Internet Explorer! Also winsock.dll is what AOL uses to make things work and you cannot add another .dll like that with AOL! Thanks for your help and one of these days I will learn how to do a Complete install, like you mentioned, TOM
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes