Disconnect Problems

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-04-02, 11:14 AM
mlminin
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question Disconnect Problems

Since upgrading from W95 to W98, my computer disconnects frequently with no warning that it has. Everything appears as though I'm still connected and finally, the telephone "line in use" light will go off, indicating that I'm no longer connected, but the computer icon in the lower right corner of my screen keeps working as if I'm connected. I was on IM this morning and was disconnected three times in the first few minutes. That is the most frequently that it has disconnected in that amount of time, but it's not unusual to be disconnected at least once each time I'm at the computer. I have talked with my ISP and they think that it's something internal. Any ideas before I take it to a repairman?

Thank you,
mlminin
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-04-02, 01:21 PM
green jacket's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Williamsport and Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Posts: 502
Arrow modem properties

Have you checked modem properties? I know there is a option to have the computer automatically disconnect the modem when it thimks you do not need internet service. I used a computer once that had this option checked, it annoyed me terribly until I unchecked it. Internet inactivity makes it disconnect. Even just reading information in an email or on a webpage.

gj
 
  #3  
Old 01-04-02, 01:37 PM
mlminin
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Disconnect Problems

Hi green jacket, Modem properties... I went to file/find (modem properties) and didn't see anything that looked like I should check or un-check it. Can you instruct me? Maybe someone has the time and wouldn't mind telling me?

Thank you,
mlminin
 
  #4  
Old 01-04-02, 04:56 PM
mikejmerritt
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Disconnect if connection is no longer needed...

Start, Control Panel, Internet Options, Connections tab, Settings button, Advanced button...Advanced Dial Up is where you check for disconnecting when connection may no longer be needed.....Unchecking this if its checked may help.....Mike
 
  #5  
Old 01-04-02, 05:14 PM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Riverdale, MD
Posts: 529
Thnax for that Mike. I have been getting the same problem with my dial up ISP
 
  #6  
Old 01-08-02, 08:43 AM
mlminin
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Unhappy

Thank you Mike. I did everything you said to do, but it looks like that was already as it should be. Someone mentioned to me that maybe it's a modem driver problem. I have no idea what that means.

mlminin
 
  #7  
Old 01-08-02, 08:47 AM
xiii13
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Since you upgraded to Windoze 98, I would find out what kind of modem you have and go to that website and get the latest driver and install it.
 
  #8  
Old 01-08-02, 09:05 AM
mlminin
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Smile

Thank you for your suggestion. Maybe that's the answer.

mlminin
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes