Still No Sound

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-01-02, 05:42 AM
daniel.johnston
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question Still No Sound

Here is a little more information in trying to answer the questions I was asked from my other post. I hope this is the right way to continue to get answers for my questions.

Thank you to everyone who is trying to help people like me.

My speakers are attached on the monitor with all cables bonded together running down to the CPU. What i believe to be the speaker cable has a purple end with several small pins that plug into the CPU.
In the lower right corner of my screen I have a calendar and what looks to be two monitors, no speaker icon. It used to be when I would turn the knob on the monitor I would get volume control icon on the screen. I do not get that any longer.

OS- 98 over 95 sound card ?? CPU- IBM2140L71 monitor- IBM2128 BIN When I look in the “device driver” I do not have any red or yellow !. When looking at the properties for the speakers it tells me there are no conflicts and seems to be working.

If some other program is using the sound card not allowing me to hear sound out of the speakers, just how does one determine what program is at fault.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-01-02, 06:29 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,019
More click self-help: >start >help >index "directx", "troubleshooting", "I don't here sounds anymore" >next. Win98 relies heavily on directx.
 
  #3  
Old 02-01-02, 08:48 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,915
If I remember right the purple cable with 5 pins is a keyboard cable. At least that's the way it should be. A speaker cable should be lime green in color, and it should be a standard audio cable. If you don't have a speaker icon in the taskbar then the audio subsytem is not working. Go to system properties, make sure you have a sound card installed with no exclamation or question marks. If you do, go to audio properties and make sure they are selected. If still not work, remove them and install again.
 
  #4  
Old 02-02-02, 04:27 PM
bluecanary25
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Post

I wish you luck in getting sound back.


Have you called IBM Aptiva support? (Is the PC still in warranty?)
Potentially, they could walk you thru a re-install of the sound card.
 
  #5  
Old 02-03-02, 09:37 AM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 186
Daniel, click on START/SETTINGS/CONTROL PANEL. Do you have a Sounds and Multimedia icon in there? If so, click on it and look through all the tabs and see if it shows a soundcard in any of the boxes. You might see some other sign of trouble in there while you're looking. There is a box at the bottom of the first page thet makes the speaker icon on or off in systray. Then go to START/RUN. Type in "dxdiag", without the quotes and click run. After the wizard does its thing you should be able to go thru the tabs and run some tests and find get some info about sound card and drivers. Be sure to post it back here. And doublecheck your wiring by taking the cable ties loose and make sure everything is plugged in where it should be.
 
  #6  
Old 02-03-02, 05:15 PM
bigmike
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Cool Icons

The monitor looking icon is for the modem. Did I ask if you had a voice modem and is it setup up to answer phone maybe? Since the speaker icon is not coming up on the task bar the sounds are either turned off or not turned on or being shared by the voice modem.
Let’s see, look in the mentioned control panel and snoop around in the Multimedia folder/settings. Check the “Show speaker icon in the task bar”. One for easier access to the audio controls. Is this a "Sound Blaster" card? (I hope)
You have been poking around trying to figure it out and bet you have clicked something. Look around in multimedia, set everything to “Default”. If so especially if it’s a SB Live! I will almost guarantee a setting. If not do you happen to know who it is?
 
  #7  
Old 02-04-02, 09:49 AM
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
One bit of information that hasnt been provided is the actual sound card or integrated sound chip installed on the system. You might want to boot the system into safemode, go into the device manager and go down to sound, video, and game controllers and remove all items under that heading. If this was a recent upgrade from win95 to win98 you may also want to check to see if there are updated sound drivers tho I dont think that there would be much difference if the sound chip is a sound blaster.

When you upgrade or even just trying to use a DOS based application, windows will occasionally have a brain spasm and create a ghost device which then takes over your system. going into safemode will allow you to see the ghost devices. After removing everything in there and then rebooting to normal mode, it should redect you sound chip and reinstall with the proper driver. Has it ever worked since you upgraded?
 
  #8  
Old 02-04-02, 10:44 AM
daniel.johnston
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I will try these things tonight

I have removed everything I can from the tower and uninstalled whatever I think might use sound. I have defraged the machine.
Tonight before I begin to reinstall the various componets I will go through the helpful hints that all of you have given and see if it helps. I still am puzzled about the cable that everyone tells me is a keyboard cable. When I removed the hardware this cable attaches to it is stamped with BOSE so I still believe it is the speaker cable.

Just learning as I go.
 
  #9  
Old 02-04-02, 01:38 PM
bigmike
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Ohhhhhhhhh, this is and integrated system!!! You didn’t mention that. That plug will be for the Bose audio that was designed to go with that unit. I did a quick search and came up with several likely links. How to rewire etc. Check out Bose site etc. That is for a specific type of sound card, speakers etc…
 
  #10  
Old 02-04-02, 06:25 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,915
If you don't have that BOSE system that came with the computer, and the sound does not have a line out, then I recommend you buy a $20 sound card and do it that way. It's simpler, and more reliable. I would not recommend rewiring intergrated connectors, you may end up needing a new motherboard, not sound card.
 
  #11  
Old 02-04-02, 07:12 PM
bigmike
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Cool Bose

I would imagine that the speakers are OK but because they are Bose I will bet you they are an odd impedance. Probably around 2 to 4 ohms. (Doubt it’s one of the true Bose .463 ohm high end speakers.) You can replace the sound card like trintro advises but go with a Sound Blaster brand; get the “Live” series. You will be able to run the monitor speakers as your Front channel of a surround system. You will have to adjust them in the “Sound Mixer” as the will be louder than an 8 ohm speaker. I run a 5 speaker surround system from Altec Lansing plus a 20 watt, 12 VDC audio amplifier to really get the rears louder for playing games. BIG subwoofer and boy does Tomb Raider sound cool
 
  #12  
Old 02-04-02, 07:36 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,915
I was just trying to save the customer some money....
 
  #13  
Old 02-05-02, 06:24 PM
bigmike
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Cool Other peoples money

Hey as long as it's someone's other than mine I am an audiophile. I want the sound to be as natural as I can get it. So I blow lots of dough on audio stuff. Trintro's idea is best for saving money, mine is best for a gold card
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes