Cannot Display Page Cure?

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-04-02, 11:06 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Philadephia
Posts: 468
Cannot Display Page Cure?

Hello, Everyone: On another Web Page a person wrote How do i get rid of the PAGE CANNOT BE DISPLAYED pop up? Someone wrote back and said to do this>>> Go to start, run, type in regsvr32urlmon.dll, then ok! He said this would cure it! My Question is What happens when a person does this? Is it really a cure or a Pipe Dream? I never heard of this being done. Anyone know anything about this or done it? TOM
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-04-02, 01:18 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,019
regsvr32 urlmon.dll: regsvr32.exe is the name of the program that allows registering of dll files. urlmon.dll contains the coding for opening, closing, etc., of internet sites. The command "regsvr32 urlmon.dll" would register, add entries to the Registry, for urlmon.dll.

The resolution assumes corrupt Registry entries. It ignores many of the other possible causes and resolutions
published by Microsoft, and it assumes the urlmon.dll file itself is not corrupt.

Quick fix universal denied!
 
  #3  
Old 02-04-02, 01:27 PM
bigmike
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Cool Stop

I can find no reference to this anywhere. There is no such .dll on my systems or net, help, newsgroups etc. Try running your security filters in IE. I do and although I still get pop upís I have cut them by over half. Get the popupís IP address by viewing its html source and add it to the restricted site in IE. It workís but not failsafe. Even the popup stoppers arenít fool proof. And can actually block content that you want to see. There is a group trying to get popupís regulated or at least say they have to be real. Get rich quick schemes etc would be regulated. But you know our government, give an inchÖ I would be more concerned about things like DSS Agent that drops snooping software on you with some games. Let's the game maker know when you are playing online etc. By the way, DSS is usually loaded w/out your permission.
 
  #4  
Old 02-04-02, 02:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Philadephia
Posts: 468
Bigmike, What does DSS mean, (im not familiar with that)? Also i found this site that has that .dll in it but i don't think whats on this web page has anything to do with Cannot display Page that I get when surfing? Please let me know what you think and don't forget meaning of DSS, OK Thank You TOM
 
  #5  
Old 02-04-02, 03:59 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,019
Bigmike, I assume that you were unable to find references to urlmon.dll. Re: paragraph 21 (last line) for a brief description.
http://www.microsoft.com/presspass/t...lin/devlin.asp

MS refers to urlmon.dll in some of their kb articles also. A quick search with Google will yield no less than 1500 results.

The explanation provided was simplified, but it is essentially correct.
 
  #6  
Old 02-04-02, 06:38 PM
bigmike
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Cool .dll

I could find the urlmon.dll reference and recognize it but what I couldnít find was the ďregserv32urlmon.dllĒ error that is being reported. This would look better as a regserv32.dll and or the urlmon.dll causing the problem.
http://dll.yaroslavl.ru/ and http://dll.yaroslavl.ru/index.php3?in_char=U
These two .dllís are here and very easy to replace. So download them, replace them as taught in the FAQ and this may fix the problem. Most likely the two are/have been damaged. No biggie even if they arenít as replacing these two will cause no problems. Try it, let us know.
http://dll.yaroslavl.ru/ is an excellent site for .dllís.
Also has this only happened once or multiple times? Was it just a Windoze "I don't like what your doing so I'm going to hiccup?" thing. Or a real wanker that is giving you fit's? We await your response
 
  #7  
Old 02-04-02, 07:27 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,019
Reread tomtom59s' original post.

The Error Message refereed to: "PAGE CANNOT BE DISPLAYED".
Tomtom asked what the command "regsvr32urlmon.dll" would do, and if it was a cure all or a pipe dream.

He had read this on some other site somewhere. My guess is the command resolution he had read is a dupication of a MS kb artic
 
  #8  
Old 02-04-02, 08:54 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,019
Tomtom59, this list of MS articles may be of interest / use to you. Please read through them before applying fixes. If you are experiencing "page cannot...." error messages prior MS articles from previous verions of IE may apply also. Base address: http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?

Internet Explorer Browsing Error Messages:
http://support.microsoft.com/default...owseerrmsg.asp

Frequently Asked Questions About Page Cannot Be Displayed Errors in Internet Explorer:
http://support.microsoft.com/default...opics/PCBD.asp

Internet Explorer Support Center:
http://support.microsoft.com/default...h%3bEN-US%3bie

Description and Availability of Internet Explorer Error Reporting Tool:
http://support.microsoft.com/default...;en-us;q276550

Windows XP Support Center
http://support.microsoft.com/default...fh;en-us;winxp


--------------------------
I'm so proud of myself
I creatd this with a mouse
I right clicked here, left clicked there
Here a click, there a click, everywhere a click, click.
----------------------------
Just funnin'.
 
  #9  
Old 02-05-02, 03:40 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Philadephia
Posts: 468
Thank you 2000. for all this info i will definetly look into all these web sites you gave me. I will get back to you and Bigmike, as soon as i can! My main trouble for myself is>>> i have AOl and if i connect to Yahoo thru AOl then it seems everything goes pretty good when i surf, but i cannot see my Yahoo bookmarks if i go thru AOL to get to Yahoo, so i minimize AOL and quick Launch my Yahoo internet brower, but after surfing for an hour or so then ALL of a sudden I click on another web page and the CANNOT FIND SERVER OR CANNOT DISPLAY PAGE Screen comes up and no matter what i do Refresh etc, i cannot get to another web page without Restarting my pc! I go back to aol and it seems like i am connected, Do you think AOl is cutting me off (maybe since i did not go thru them to get to Yahoo, AOL is assuming that i am not using the computer (I don't know whats going on) LIke i say if i restart everything works fine for another hour or two! Please let me know what you guys think and Thanks again, TOM
 
  #10  
Old 02-05-02, 06:27 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,019
AOL is one of the ISPs listed as "problematic" in the kb. You can review available ISPs from here http://thelist.internet.com/
 
  #11  
Old 02-05-02, 11:42 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Philadephia
Posts: 468
Thanks 2000, i will check them out! One question, does everybodies ISP CUT them OFF and make them Logon again after surfting for hours? I know the cheaper ones do like netzero but I pay top dollar at AOL and I got a suspicion they are cutting me off after so long on the Net! Does anyone else have this problem? TOM
 
  #12  
Old 02-05-02, 06:32 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 79
I had Netzero, and never got kicked off. Of course, they cancelled my subscription after that. Now Juno, and I never get cut off for any reason; as long as am using the service and staying active. Others with high dollor accounts on premium servers, they also get kicked off, but they don't like to admit it. That's why they have "always on" service available. High speed though.
 
  #13  
Old 02-06-02, 08:14 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,019
Tomtom59, since I don't use AOL or XP I did a little snooping. Conclusion switch to Netsacpe 6.x.

Outlooks protocols and AOL mail protocols don't mix..., thus continual disconnects. Netscape 6.x mail supports AOL since AOL now owns Netscape. Solutions for using Outlook with AOL exist, along with inherent problems, but why beat your head against the wall. You'' do this alot if you continue with Outlook and AOL.

AOL disconnects: find someone familiar with XP and "NT type" event logs and modem logs. The logs are diagnostic tools when properly interpeted.
 
  #14  
Old 02-06-02, 08:26 PM
bigmike
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Cool AOL stinks

And AOL is complaining about IE and Outlook. Since they have taken over Netscape is has turned to garbage. Not that I ever cared for Netscape anyway but AOL has now designed it to work best on AOL dialup. My suggestion is to look into another ISP. If you live in a fair sized city there will be a half dozen of them. Cable modems and DSL are the way to go. AOL is to me like holy water is to a vampire
 
  #15  
Old 02-06-02, 10:24 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,019
Bigmike, you have to stop. I almost fell out of my chair. Nothing like being blunt. I love it!, tears and all.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes