Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Cable modem router


gavzilla's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

02-12-02, 05:39 PM   #1  
gavzilla
Cable modem router

Hello all, first post.


I would like to know if I bought a cable modem router, will I be able to use 2 different computers at same time, and not have to add to subscription? thanks.

 
Sponsored Links
llocklin's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

02-12-02, 06:55 PM   #2  
llocklin
The short answer is yes. You'll need to set up the network properly of course, but it's not that hard. Most routers come with pretty good instructions to do just what you're doing.

 
trinitro's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,915

02-12-02, 08:06 PM   #3  
Depending on what kind of broadband connection, there are different ways to set it up. But it's usually pretty simple. Just make sure you duplicate all of the entries present on your computer right now on the router. Most cable companies need the computer name to be exact. Most DSL companies use PPPoE, so you need the user name and password. If you have any problems, let us know.

 
gavzilla's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

02-13-02, 06:39 AM   #4  
gavzilla
Thanks for the help guys.

 
bigmike's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

02-13-02, 09:21 AM   #5  
bigmike
Linksys

Stay with Linksys routers! They are the industry standard and almost hippie proof! You will need a two channel router, two NIC cards, preferably Kingston. And your ISP's full path settings. DNS numbers, IP addresses etc. Linksys will literally lead you by the hand during install and they even have free phone support.

 
Search this Thread