Cable modem router

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-12-02, 05:39 PM
gavzilla
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Cable modem router

Hello all, first post.


I would like to know if I bought a cable modem router, will I be able to use 2 different computers at same time, and not have to add to subscription? thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-12-02, 06:55 PM
llocklin
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
The short answer is yes. You'll need to set up the network properly of course, but it's not that hard. Most routers come with pretty good instructions to do just what you're doing.
 
  #3  
Old 02-12-02, 08:06 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,915
Depending on what kind of broadband connection, there are different ways to set it up. But it's usually pretty simple. Just make sure you duplicate all of the entries present on your computer right now on the router. Most cable companies need the computer name to be exact. Most DSL companies use PPPoE, so you need the user name and password. If you have any problems, let us know.
 
  #4  
Old 02-13-02, 06:39 AM
gavzilla
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks for the help guys.
 
  #5  
Old 02-13-02, 09:21 AM
bigmike
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Linksys

Stay with Linksys routers! They are the industry standard and almost hippie proof! You will need a two channel router, two NIC cards, preferably Kingston. And your ISP's full path settings. DNS numbers, IP addresses etc. Linksys will literally lead you by the hand during install and they even have free phone support.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes