Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

back up


kaybyrd's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,774

03-11-02, 08:07 PM   #1  
back up

where is the backup program for Windows Me? Can't find it anywhere, and is supposed to be installed separately. I can't locate it on the installation discs.

Thanks,

Kay

 
Sponsored Links
bigmike's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

03-12-02, 06:02 AM   #2  
bigmike
CTRL Panel

Start, Programs, Accessories, System Tools and backup should be in there. If not go to Start, Setting, Control Panel, Add Remove Programs, Windows setup look in installed components and see if the backup box is checked. If not check it and install backup. DO NOT uncheck any other boxes, that will uninstall that feature.

 
kaybyrd's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,774

03-12-02, 06:19 AM   #3  
It's not in accessories, nor is it loadable through control panel. An article I read mentioned that it is on the installation disks, but I can't find it.

The instructions say to look in the Add-Ons folder and then in the MSBackup folder (on the install disk), but I don't have an Add-ons folder on either of the two disks, nor a MSBackup folder.

This is a link to the article I read:
http://duxcw.com/digest/Howto/softwa.../winme/backup/

Any ideas? We purchased an EMachines that was preloaded, and wondering if they even bothered to put it on the recover disks. I've performed a search on the computer for these folder/files, and also on the cds.

We purchased a cdrw, installed it and would love to backup the hard drive! Thanks for any help.

Kay

 
bigmike's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

03-12-02, 06:47 AM   #4  
bigmike
OS disk?

So you don't actually have an OS disk then? Just one of those recover disks? If you don't have a complete version of 98.X then you will not be able to find the backup software. But if you have the regular 98.X disk then it will be located thru Windoze setup in CTRL. PNL. Have you got a friend with a Windoze complete disk? If not, I am aware the MacAfee sells a backup. Someone else may know of another stand alone backup program. I mentioned in another post, call Dell or whoever you bought the computer from and ask/demand the original OS disk. They only reason they don't give it to you is so they can make money off you later down the road when not if, Windoze crashes... Cynical ole bird ain't I?

 
kaybyrd's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,774

03-12-02, 06:58 AM   #5  
not cynical, just aware....

Okay, will do. Tried their site, no info there. I run 98 on my machine, and backup is there. I am in Kentucky trying to help my friend with her machine. This ME deal is for the birds. Not this Byrd, but those other ones LOL.

When I get home, can I copy my backup execute file and email it to her, or will it work that way? We will also get us a copy, a real copy, of the installation disks.

Thanks for the help guys. Don't know why my friends ask me to help them with their systems. Blind leading the blind most of the time.

Kay

 
BSB's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 782
WI

03-12-02, 07:33 AM   #6  
This may or may not work with the recovery disk ( hate them things) but go to start>settings>control panel. open "add/remove programs" there should be 2 maybe 3 tabs, one of them is "windows setup. (win2k shows add/remove windows components on the left, not sure about ME) I forget where the backup program lies, but highlight each one and click on details untill you find the backup program. check it and hit intsall. That should take care of ya. You can also download a 3rd party backup that may be more reliable.

Brian

 
2000's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,019

 
kaybyrd's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,774

03-12-02, 11:42 AM   #8  
there isn't that folder on the disk, nor on the hard drive. it may be because it is an emachines restore disk instead of the actual windows me disk.

Kay

 
BSB's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 782
WI

03-12-02, 11:55 AM   #9  
if your looking for the windows setup folder on the disk you wont find it. its part of a .cab file. (I think)

will have to run it from windows setup. if it even works with a recover disc.

Brian

 
toni1595's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 299
ME

03-12-02, 01:25 PM   #10  
Windoze?

Hey Bigmike, why do you call Windows "Windoze" Is it a hit against Microsoft or an inside joke? I personally feel that Bill GAtes is rich enough already......

 
Search this Thread