Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Ancient Q & A database help ?


gt7070's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

03-16-02, 07:04 AM   #1  
gt7070
Ancient Q & A database help ?

I setup my Travel Agency database on Symantecs Q & A 3.0 a DOS based product ten years ago.

I have tried importing into Access and have not succeeded. Many Access based pograms will import easily from the newer Windows based versions Q & A 4.0 & 5.0.

Any ideas or does anyone want to sell Q&A 4.0 or 5.0 ?

Thanks Gary

 
Sponsored Links
mrhoadar's Avatar
Member

Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 338
IL

03-20-02, 08:40 PM   #2  
Looks like that product is gone. Went to Synamtec's web site and the only thing I could find were old help files. Other ways to go.
*See if Q&A 3 will export to another file format like dbase that Access can read.
*Try an older version of Access.
*Try Star Office from Sun Microsystems (at least its free)
*Try File Maker Pro

 
2000's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,019

03-20-02, 10:18 PM   #3  
These people may be able to help:
http://www.qaug.com/
http://www.quickanswer.com/faqs.htm

Locating old DOS software:
My bother lives near silicon valley in Ca. The following is one of "the places" to go to locate old DOS software, in the box or otherwise. http://www.weirdstuff.com/ This is one of the greatest computer junk stores that I have seen. It's huge! It's colossal, it's weirdstuff!

 
Nashville_Guy's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

03-23-02, 06:34 PM   #4  
Nashville_Guy
My Q&A days were a long time ago, but I can offer a few suggestions. When I had a DB crash, I would export the entire DB as comma delimited and re-import it to get it un-hung. Have you tried exporting it as a comma deliminated ASCII file first (say, to My Documents), and then trying to import it into Access?

Since Q&A is a flat file database, I am sure that a lot of your forms will be skittered, but it may work. Otherwise, I seriously doubt you will be able to find a more recent version than the one you have.

Good luck, at any rate!

 
reprosser's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

03-23-02, 08:06 PM   #5  
reprosser
Excel and Access

You might try exporting into Excel, and then importing the Excel file into Access. I have seen that work before when Access would not accept directly.

 
Search this Thread