Ancient Q & A database help ?

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-16-02, 07:04 AM
gt7070
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Ancient Q & A database help ?

I setup my Travel Agency database on Symantecs Q & A 3.0 a DOS based product ten years ago.

I have tried importing into Access and have not succeeded. Many Access based pograms will import easily from the newer Windows based versions Q & A 4.0 & 5.0.

Any ideas or does anyone want to sell Q&A 4.0 or 5.0 ?

Thanks Gary
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-20-02, 08:40 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Posts: 338
Looks like that product is gone. Went to Synamtec's web site and the only thing I could find were old help files. Other ways to go.
*See if Q&A 3 will export to another file format like dbase that Access can read.
*Try an older version of Access.
*Try Star Office from Sun Microsystems (at least its free)
*Try File Maker Pro
 
  #3  
Old 03-20-02, 10:18 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,019
These people may be able to help:
http://www.qaug.com/
http://www.quickanswer.com/faqs.htm

Locating old DOS software:
My bother lives near silicon valley in Ca. The following is one of "the places" to go to locate old DOS software, in the box or otherwise. http://www.weirdstuff.com/ This is one of the greatest computer junk stores that I have seen. It's huge! It's colossal, it's weirdstuff!
 
  #4  
Old 03-23-02, 06:34 PM
Nashville_Guy
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
My Q&A days were a long time ago, but I can offer a few suggestions. When I had a DB crash, I would export the entire DB as comma delimited and re-import it to get it un-hung. Have you tried exporting it as a comma deliminated ASCII file first (say, to My Documents), and then trying to import it into Access?

Since Q&A is a flat file database, I am sure that a lot of your forms will be skittered, but it may work. Otherwise, I seriously doubt you will be able to find a more recent version than the one you have.

Good luck, at any rate!
 
  #5  
Old 03-23-02, 08:06 PM
reprosser
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Excel and Access

You might try exporting into Excel, and then importing the Excel file into Access. I have seen that work before when Access would not accept directly.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes