Memory problems?

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-27-02, 05:55 AM
Roadslayer
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Memory problems?

Hi All,

I have Tri-Gem pentium 166 computer.Upon booting up the machine,i get an error message that says:"cashe memory bad!do not enable cashe!". I checked the memory and its good.I even swapped it out with two chips from my other compter which i know is good.I have two simms chips (16 mb).What is the problem and how do i solve this.I also checked the sockets and they seem to be fine. Any help would really be appreciated.

Thanks, roadslayer
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-27-02, 06:40 AM
Nashville_Guy
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Roadslayer, cache memory is actually located on your system board, and is separate from RAM. If you have the manufacturer of the system board available (or your users manual to it), you can determine whether that memory is soldered on to the board or if it may be replaceable.

If you disable cache memory through BIOS, you will see a big performance decrease. Whether or not this is repairable easily, it might be more cost effective to just get a new system board.

Nashville_Guy
 
  #3  
Old 03-27-02, 07:11 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,019
Suggest following this detailed guide http://www.pcguide.com/ts/x/sys/booterrGBER04-c.html
 
  #4  
Old 03-27-02, 04:39 PM
Roadslayer
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks guys

You've both been a Great help! Thanks for the info.

Roadslayer
 
  #5  
Old 03-29-02, 05:29 AM
Roadslayer
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Hi all again,

I need a new mother board but i can't find the part # for it.There are Numbers on the board but i don't know which one is the part #.Please help.I think its an Intel board but i'm not sure.It has a pentium166 cpu.Also, where could i find a replacement board this old online.(1996-1997)

Thanks in advance,

roadslayer
 
  #6  
Old 03-29-02, 06:01 AM
Nashville_Guy
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
If your computer case will accept a standard sized motherboard, I would not look at a part for part replacement, but a new motherboard and CPU (upgrade!)

You might try taking your PC to a local computer store and having them advise you on what components you would need to replace (i.e., memory, processor, etc) in order to upgrade.

If you absolutely want to go with the same system board (and I would not count on it still being available), get the FCC number off of it and try typing it in to an FCC ID search engine. The following link: FCC ID Searches will explain how to do this.

If it were me, however, I would just plop a few hundred $$$ down and end up with, for all intents and purposes, a new pc.
 
  #7  
Old 03-29-02, 06:35 AM
Roadslayer
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Hello again and thanks for your reply.

I tried to enter all the numbers i could find in the fcc seach engine but nothing came up.I need to know where on the board the numbers may be.I don't see any #'s with fcc before them.I don't want to upgrade at this time.I just want to find this board at the lowest online price somewhere if possible.


Thanks again, roadslayer
 
  #8  
Old 03-29-02, 06:48 AM
bigmike
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Cool Door stop...

The likelihood of finding that outdated board is next to impossible. Even if you did find it most likely it will have some kind of problem. New boards are not that expensive any longer, I would stay with Tyan or Epox and CPU’s are getting cheaper everyday. Don’t go to a gig type CPU, find an AMD 350 (If you can) or say a socket 370 Intel and board, I just bought an Epox ep-bx7+100 and a Pentium 3 700 MHz CPU for $150 and new mid-tower w/ATX 250 watt power supply for $30. I have memory, CD, blah, blah, blah. A lot of places offer bring in your old system we will update it for under $300. Beats the tar out of $1000 for a gig CPU that you may not need…
 
  #9  
Old 03-29-02, 07:36 AM
Roadslayer
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks guys.I'll take all your recomendations into consideration.

Thanks again, roadslayer
 
  #10  
Old 03-31-02, 07:47 PM
bigmike
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Cool Board

Hey a buddy of mine went digging through his junk for me and found, I think a new board capable of doing what you want. Probably 20 maybe 40 bucks for it? Give me an email if you want to pursue this. Mike
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes