missing drives

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-01-02, 07:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: alabama
Posts: 135
Angry missing drives

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
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-01-02, 08:28 PM
kaybyrd's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: N.W. MS.
Posts: 1,774
Arrow

boy, you sound like your going through heck with this thing. i went through the cdrom's not reading last night. couldn't even get the system to boot off cdrom to the installation disk (trying to get things back to beginnings) and then, couldn't even get it to boot to windows.

trying to think what i did....i know that my cdrw and cdrom were hooked up wrong. i had not set the correct jumpers on the back side of them. windows somehow ended up loading them as second primary master and first secondary slave. don't know what that means. i tried to hook my cdrw up like i did my friends. her's came with explicit instructions for the cdrw. i purchased a sony instead of the brand she did, so the same didn't hold true. i had to end up getting into safe mode and reading the manual for adding on to this particular Yugo of a computer EMachines brand). it explained that on my computer the secondary ide cable that comes from my motherboard is for the cdroms (okay, was the one i was using anyway, but......i had the second link configured as the master and the first in the link (ide cable from motherboard) as the slave. it ran okay that way, but the system started acting funny. Of course, silly me goes into the bios setup and messed things up. then of course, even sillier me goes in and changes the jumpers to both as cls. not sure if those are the correct letters, but assumed it was the "use in order they're hooked up deal". that's when i couldn't even get back to windows. with them hooked up the first way, i couldn't get a boot off the cdrom/cdrw. i finally read the manual and configured the first cdrom in the line to master, then the cdrw as slave. then i went back into my bios settings, puteverything back the way it was to begin with, and then had it auto-detect what the primary master, primary slave, secondary master, and then secondary slave drives. I know that sounds confusing but i am fortunately up and running and can boot from the cdrom again.

Maybe if you can at least get into safe mode, you can zoom around at your settings, it may let you find those files that the anti-virus may have hidden....hey, i don't run that antivirus on my system, but is there some kind of setting control through the program that hides those programs so no one can change them? Maybe you can uncheck the box or whatever and bring it up. I wonder if maybe you can go into your folder options and click on show all files (system and hidden) and maybe they will appear....

Not sure, but hope you have good luck. Maybe some of the computer guru's will have an explanation and a remedy for you soon. When did you lose your E drive? before or after you installed the new cdrom? i lose my d drive everytime i install something new. it bumped my zipdrive (d) off when i installed the cdrw. my cdrom was assigned to e so it didn't mess with it. i now have my zipdrive as L. I read somewhere to label the new hardware something further down the alphabet line, but never X,Y, or Z on a network, and never Z somewhere else ..... something like that. Just pick a letter somewhere in the middle of the alpha. Everytime that my D drive got bumped off, I had to reinstall the software, and all my links were messed up after that. I am doing much better with it as the L drive, and haven't lost it again yet. I have my cdrom as E and my CDRW as F. I doubt that i will be adding anything else, but who knows.....

Kay
 
  #3  
Old 04-01-02, 11:35 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,019
Yes / No questions:
1. Able to boot to Windows? Safe mode only? Beyond?
2. Able to boot to DOS? From drive A:? C: only? [C: boot - press & hold Ctrl Key - command prompt].
3. Able to restore hardware to original configuration when Windows was first installed: Hard Disk(s), Floppy, CD-rom?
4. Access to working computer w / CD-Rom & 1.44M Floppy?
 
  #4  
Old 04-02-02, 10:35 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,915
McAfee can cause all kinds of strange problems, but I've never encountered something like this. If all you've done is install McAfee and then the problems started, then McAfee probably caused them. I would recommend you reformat and reload windows in that case, then install McAfee before you install anything else. Those problems may also be hardware caused, not necessarily software.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes