Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Incorrect advice......

04-08-02, 04:54 PM   #1  
Incorrect advice......

look man, I have been doing this type of work for over 20 years. I look at things in a more logical way than maybe you’re what? 18 or so years of life?

Point 1: I started with DEC in 1982. Before that I had been a telecommunication technician for 18 years. I currently hold an MCSE in Win2000, previously in WinNT4.

I will agree that you are right as far as the 16 bit FAT goes but you are off in left field as far as a true 32 bit system.

I thought the original question was about Fat16? Now unless they changed the rules, Fat16 means 16 bit?

The "Missing" 348 megs is the Windoze OS and swap file. It cannot be used by anything else. And yes you will have to format to do what you want.

This was referring to the remaining approx. 400Mb of unpartitioned disk space......OS?....SWAP FILE?....REALLY???

If there is a soul here that says I have miss-informed them or given them bad advise I will abdicate and leave this forum.

I'm saying it.....Well?

And to the rest of the contributors to this thread, I'm sorry if I seem a little direct, but I started out trying to correct a glaring error. After all, forums such as these must be accurate to be of any use at all. My attempts were met with hostility, so I told it how it is.

Sponsored Links
Visiting Guest

04-08-02, 07:47 PM   #2  
Smokey
G'day, ejones:

I have been to your country several times and cannot understand how you can stand to be in the middle of so much beauty.

Perhaps your posts were perceived as hostile in their intent and were not taken in context. I know Big Mike personally and know him to be very knowledgeable in a lot of fields.