Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

power cord


's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

04-25-00, 01:28 PM   #1  
My firewall software documentation claims that your computer can be accessed directly through your power cord making firewall software ineffective. Does anyone know how a cpu's power cord can transmit data over its power cord to another computer. Does it require a special outlet, power cord, etc??? I always assumed the telphone line, or radio signals were the only way to transmit data. The power cord is news to me

 
Sponsored Links
's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

04-25-00, 08:41 PM   #2  
hello info,
if it can be done its total news to me, im also going to place this post in the computer section and c what they come up with so look there as well

 
's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

04-26-00, 06:28 AM   #3  
This is not possible that I know of..maybe NASA knows???

Your power cord is used just for that..Power!

Your telephone line or cable connections is what transmits and receives data for your computer.

 
's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

04-29-00, 06:28 AM   #4  
I hate to be the bearer of bad news but it will be possible in the "not to distant" future. Newest technology demonstrated at INFOCOM came up with a new method of data transmission which will put phone lines and cable out of business. The data transmission uses the electromagnetic field surrounding power lines as the transmission media and they claim they can transmit a data stream 2000 miles without loss of signal and at a rate of the speed of light. Star Wars? Not hardly. This avenue has been on the drawing boards for 20 years and they have a break through. Before long we will be considering an invasion through the power cord.

Smokey

 
's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

04-30-00, 09:10 AM   #5  
I don't think that is bad news! I am sure we will be able to link to the internet thru our car lighter plug or something! It is amazing!

 
's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

04-30-00, 07:16 PM   #6  
Power cord, schmower cord. They aren't gonna get much out of MY computer anyway they crack it, since I don't know how to use 95% of it anyway. LOL

 
's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

05-01-00, 05:55 AM   #7  
If you want to peruse the website about this new technology, the parent company has the information posted at http://www.mediafusioncorp.net/home.htm

It makes for interesting reading.

Smokey

 
's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

05-01-00, 05:48 PM   #8  
I'll probably crash the net unless I replace the brushes in my wormdrive...and when the power goes out?


[This message has been edited by Jacksprat (edited May 01, 2000).]

 
's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

05-03-00, 05:26 PM   #9  
LOL...all too funny guys...
It was interesting Smokey! And I believe even more is on the way...things we never dreamed about. Personally I can't wait! Keeps life interesting...

Keep up the great posts guys!

 
's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

05-06-00, 12:23 PM   #10  
The Internet is a strange place and full of new things every day. Because of my job and its security classifications, we stay on top of all the new technology. I'll pass on what is "passable" as it happens.

Smokey

 
's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

05-24-00, 09:13 PM   #11  
Somebody may be just jerking your chain or there maybe a misunderstanding.

There is something called power line carrier technology. This a way of modulating standard 60 hz power and putting intelligence and transmitting over the power wires.

Many applications, many systems use the technology, been around a long time.

Example house control via X-10 allows putting little pip markers on the power and they are picked off by a unique module set to a particular coded address. System allows 256 unique addresses. The receiving modules plug in and control the load, light, fan, etc.

There are different ways of transmitting, one is via computer control, usually uses a serial port / interface module. Some manual pushbutton stations just plug into 115 VAC.

Long subject, even has a bunch of web interface stuff available, just gone crazy past few years.

Been around 10 years or more for home use, used by lots of people. Punch in X10 on a web seach.

There is even a system being developed by electric utilites to allow them to monitor load within a home via the power wires using similiar technology down to individual appliances. Put a gizmo on the meter to transmit.

There is a spy method where they can read what is on the monitor for sure by getting close to the house and the monitor transmits RF and it can be recorded.

The old adage if the computer is on, they can get it and even if off, maybe is probably true.

Yes, 1984 is here, and the Big Guy is everywhere.

 
's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

06-01-00, 10:26 AM   #12  
There are some technologies that allow transmission on power lines but they are limited to local areas. For one, data transmission (binary codes) will not pass through the windings of a transformer so all data movement is stopped at the pole.
For years there have been FM Intercoms, household security systems, computers running the house via power outlet transcievers, etc. But, again, all this stops at the pole and prevents your computer from running the next guy's house.
The new technology listed above will use the magnetic field surrounding power lines as a transmission medium. A magnetic field has no resistance and, thus, they anticipate data transmission at the speed of light. There doesn't seem to be any active research on using the electric line, itself, because of the huge loses in the systems. Electric lines will only pass alternating current and data transmission is pulsed DC.

Smokey

 
's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

06-14-00, 06:03 AM   #13  
[QUOTE]Originally posted by info:
[B]My firewall software documentation claims that your computer can be accessed directly through your power cord making firewall software ineffective.

To answer your question.... NO, your computer cannot be accessed thru your power line. There is a marketing drive to provide power line access in the future but not without additional hardware to provide that capability.

 
's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

06-20-00, 06:52 AM   #14  
I do believe it can be done, but will hava to have a interface capable to connect to the power line. See, the power is just a copper wire as well as the telephone line and if you consider the multiplexors technology, where different signals travel in the same conductor it can be done but, the receiving computer as well as the transmiting one must have a interface capable of decodify and identify the signal.
This multiplexor technology is used a lot in the alarm industry but using low voltage. Also at high voltage it is used by power companies to control their H.V. breakers and switches trhough the same power line, so, it can be done, but if you do not have an interface that can accept it...dont worry about, it is like radio signal exist but if you do not have a radio you can not heard it.

 
's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

07-02-00, 10:07 AM   #15  
Hi, Info:

I agree with Rambler and Storm_e. You can find some examples of this technologi at Radio Shack (They sell "WireLess" alarms, control modules, and speakers which use the power cord as a communications channel). I'm working for an utility company and We use "PowerLine Carrier" for voice and data transmission. One thing is for sure: In order to use the power lines for communication, you should have the appropriate interfaces at both ends. I do not think that computer manufacturers are building that without telling you (and without making you pay for those complicated circuits). You can stop worrying and take a good nap for now.

 
's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

07-02-00, 10:09 AM   #16  
Hi, Info:

I agree with Rambler and Storm_e. You can find some examples of this technologi at Radio Shack (They sell "WireLess" alarms, control modules, and speakers which use the power cord as a communications channel). I'm working for an utility company and We use "PowerLine Carrier" for voice and data transmission. One thing is for sure: In order to use the power lines for communication, you should have the appropriate interfaces at both ends. I do not think that computer manufacturers are building that without telling you (and without making you pay for those complicated circuits). You can stop worrying and take a good nap for now.

 
Search this Thread