Partitioning WinNT

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-15-02, 11:44 AM
jn
jn is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 226
Partitioning WinNT

What is the max partition size you can use for a WinNt workstation install for the system "C" partition.
I was picking 10 GIG and it says it is too large....and I want it to be as large as possible. I think I saw somewhere 4 gig, is that right?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-15-02, 12:34 PM
BSB's Avatar
BSB
BSB is offline
Member
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: GB, WI
Posts: 782
  #3  
Old 05-15-02, 08:34 PM
green jacket's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Williamsport and Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Posts: 502
whaT about Win 2k?
I am considering installing 2k on a machine that has been problems with Win Me.
gj
 
  #4  
Old 05-16-02, 01:33 PM
BSB's Avatar
BSB
BSB is offline
Member
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: GB, WI
Posts: 782
Can't seem to find any limitations for partition size for win2k. Some co-workers think its up to 80Gb. According to MS the largest volume size is 2TB for fat32 and 2EB for ntfs.

Brian
 
  #5  
Old 05-16-02, 02:23 PM
Bryanx0a0d
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Final answer:
NTFS: 2 exabytes (1EB == 1024 TB)
FAT32: 2 TB (In WinXP 32GB)
FAT16: 2 GB
 
  #6  
Old 05-22-02, 06:45 PM
ejones's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Darwin NT Australia
Posts: 188
Final answer NOT

The REAL final answer is:
NTFS: Up to 16 Exabytes per partition, BUT system partition limited to 7.8 Gbytes

FAT 32: Up to 4Gbytes.

The FAT 32 limitation is the reason why, using normal NT4 install procedures, you are limited to a system partition size of 4 Gb, although NT4 says 7.8 Gb is ok. That's because the partition is FAT 32 at that stage, and converted to NTFS at the next boot.
 
  #7  
Old 05-22-02, 11:09 PM
Bryanx0a0d
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
  #8  
Old 05-23-02, 06:38 AM
jn
jn is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 226
ejones...you hit the nail on the head. When I was doing the install I was going for 7.8 gig but it wouldn't do it. Then I realized that even though I was shooting for a NTFS system, it is first created as FAT and limited to 4 gig and then is converted during a later boot to NTFS. Once I picked a size smaller than 4 it loaded fine.
To my disgust I have Partition-it and Partition comander which both read on the outside of the box that they work with NT and NTFS. So, Im thinking I can load one of these later and resize however I want, only to find out that you need the Boot drive to be FAT (and if that is true then it will resize other NTFS partitions). Neither said this on the outside of the box though.
Not too big a deal though, I just set up another partition with the disk administrator...it was straight forward and worked fine.
Thanks for all the input
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes