blue screen fatal exception error on shut-down

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-21-02, 05:24 AM
howiek's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Acton, Ontario, Canada - Zone 6b
Posts: 413
blue screen fatal exception error on shut-down

Hello

I've been having an occasional problem on shutting down the machine - not always, but enough to be a real nuicance...

Message will come up on the blue screen with the jist of the message being - fatal exception OE @ 018F:BFF9DFFF, press any key to continue or CTL-ALT-DEL to restart machine...

Press any key and next blue screen message is fatal exception OE @ 018F:BFF744FE, then the same options;

Press again, then "fatal exception OD @ 018F:BFF72911 - one more time and a black screen with a grid of dots comes up, the flashing cursor (arrow) in the centre of the screen. At that point, have to restart using the Reset key - machine goes thru the scandisc, then boots. It's the same error messages at the same locations whenever this happens...

Running Windows 98se, PIII, 450 GHz clock, 256M RAM, 13G hard drive with lots of space, DSL connection. Browser defaults to Netscape Nav 6.2 (although IE 5.0 is installed), Norton AV & firewall - all McAfee files have been removed. We do shut down the browser and disconnect from the server before going thru the shut-down procedure.

One other thing that seems to be happening is the icons by the clock (sorry, I keep getting the names of the different screen parts mixed up) that indicate what is running - will sometimes appear fuzzy - that is - not as sharp as they usually are - if I notice this, I'll reboot the machine, but was wondering if this had anything to do with the other problem...

I asked at the store we bought the machine at and the guy there said that Windows 98se doesn't like Net Nav (found out McAfee doesn't either, which is why we're running Norton now... ). He suggested a registry cleaner, but haven't found anything that shouldn't be there. He also said that as a last resort I could reformat, rebuild and partition, but I only want to do that as a last resort...

Not a tech wizard, so any help in layman's terms anybody can offer will be greatly appreciated.

Howie
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-21-02, 03:03 PM
bigmike
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Cool Core Dump

Thats a core dump for some reason. Have you searched MS's Knowlege base for the error? I will too and go from here...
 
  #3  
Old 05-21-02, 04:28 PM
Bryanx0a0d
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
BSOD (Blue Screen of Death):
Has this been happening for quite some time?
What was the last thing that you installed before this started happening?
Have you installed the latest updates from http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com ?
 
  #4  
Old 05-21-02, 05:39 PM
howiek's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Acton, Ontario, Canada - Zone 6b
Posts: 413
Ummm... Mike, I'm not sure where to find the MS base - I did a quick look on the website, but have't got a clue what I'm looking for...

Bryan, started about three weeks ago - no new programs, run virus scans and get updates whenever they are available (check for them daily)

I have downloaded and installed some Windows updates since the problem began, as well as a cleanup program from www.regcleaner.com, but that was all AFTER the problems began - dosen't seem to be happening on any regular basis - kinda like a game of chance - sometimes you win, sometimes you lose...

Thanks again - will keep a watch for suggestions on what I should be doing

Howie

btw - I run Scandisk (thorough scan) and then Defrag every two weeks or so
 

Last edited by howiek; 05-21-02 at 06:00 PM.
  #5  
Old 05-21-02, 09:54 PM
Bryanx0a0d
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Interesting. I can not find anything in the mskb on this blue screen. I am checking into a few other things.
 
  #6  
Old 05-21-02, 10:30 PM
bigmike
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Cool Nope

Not a thing not even in the Usenet groups etc. Hummmmmm There was/is a patch out for ME but I don't know of anything else. OK one y'all hotshot's young’uns has seen this error. Memory failure comes to mind, possible video card too, you might try re-seating the video card. All the patches, updates etc are done? Is it related to time? Maybe heat, when’s the last time you cleaned the fan and heat sink brick under it as well as blown out the power supply with some canned air? U mentioned you scandisk, defrag too I would imagine. Since its intermittent look at system resource meter, you may have a really bad memory leak. When the icons start to get fuzzy do a ctrl - alt - delete and see what's running. Or MSCONFIG and see what running. Shut off stuff like Find Fast, programs that are loading that you may not need or use a lot. Antivirus could cause this, is it up to date and have you checked the FAQ's at Norton for any problems with this error or action. Sorry just thinking out loud...
 
  #7  
Old 05-22-02, 01:59 AM
howiek's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Acton, Ontario, Canada - Zone 6b
Posts: 413
I dunno...

I'll pull the cover off the machine today, check the connections and PCU fan, then blow everything out with canned air...

After that, I might build a voodoo doll resembling my machine - and keep an eye on this forum...

The machine is a pc clone - had it built by a reputable computer store 3 years ago, so I'm hoping that components are sound. Since I got rid of McAfee, resourses run anywhere from 83% - 91%. Checked MSConfig to make sure nothing non-essensial is running in the background.

Can't afford a new one for a bit, so will make do with what I got...

Thanks again for trying

Howie
 
  #8  
Old 05-22-02, 04:32 AM
phoenix22
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
[QUOTE]Originally posted by howiek
[B]I dunno...

I'll pull the cover off the machine today, check the connections and PCU fan, then blow everything out with canned air...

After that, I might build a voodoo doll resembling my machine - and keep an eye on this forum...

The machine is a pc clone - had it built by a reputable computer store 3 years ago, so I'm hoping that components are sound. Since I got rid of McAfee, resourses run anywhere from 83% - 91%. Checked MSConfig to make sure nothing non-essensial is running in the background.


Thanks again for trying
Hey, uh like I am new in here but specialize in fixin w98se.machines........so when everything else fails.......give me a hollar at computercops.biz or register and go the forums section at dslreports,com....jd.....I can pretty much guarantee a fix

 
  #9  
Old 05-22-02, 09:06 AM
Bryanx0a0d
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I checked a few internal resources and couldn't find anything either.

I would recommend that you reformat and re-install the OS. You should also upgrade the OS.
 
  #10  
Old 05-22-02, 10:00 AM
bigmike
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Cool Post Here?

Well pheonix22 thanks for the offer but that’s what our forums are for. Could you answer him here? There is a lot of knowledge here from our guys but something like this could be so many different things we would like to hear your ideas too. Thanks Mike…
 
  #11  
Old 05-22-02, 09:54 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,019
Bigmike, you are too kind. After all, who isn't a Win98se specialist [a guided tour of Win98 troubleshooters - F1 and start menu accessible].

I did a little research of my own. I found a half a dozen or so messages on the error. To date, no one has a conclusive solution. Indicative of all: http://www.techadvice.com/issues/how...word2=BFF9DFFF

Cool, exception error reference: http://www.techadvice.com/w98/E/Exception_errors.htm

Solutions offered within those messages resembled or were convolutions of Windows troubleshooting help. There were a few obscure solutions, but most of the potential hardware and software solutions: [video bios and "get driver update"], [memory/parity errors], [Intel I820 Chipset], [usb or video IRQ conflict], [reference to anti virus - both Macfee and Nortan], [corrupt vxd or DLL - program error], to name a few, all found in [guess]: MS kb. An explanation of use for affected systems and a link to the Windows 98 second edition shutdown supplement is available also. [I suppose it's too simple, but noted omissions were scanning the disk for errors and moving the swap file].

howiek, Bigmikes hardware related guesswork was, as usual, pretty much on target. If you're not the tenacious type, hate ferreting, intimidated by techno-babble, or don't want to at least try available troubleshooting help, follow Bryanx0a0ds' suggestion.

The paging error has no single definitive cause or solution. If you choose to ferret find the startup/shutsown troubleshooter in Win help. Other simple things to try:
Move the swap file [restart in mdsos mode - ren win386.swp byswap - exit /back in Windows/ del byswap].
scandisk
! A quick way to view the last line in c:\bootlog.txt and then find loadfailed errors [relates to Win help and vxds]. >Start >Run: %comspec% /k type c:\bootlog.txt
On the command line: type c:\bootlog.txt | find /i "fail"
! Close this dos box either by clicking close or entering exit.
Disable Nortons Auto-Protect feature.
Also see: http://support.microsoft.com/directo...NG=ENG&SA=PER&

My nickels worth for the month.
 
  #12  
Old 05-23-02, 02:04 AM
howiek's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Acton, Ontario, Canada - Zone 6b
Posts: 413
2000 and all!

Thanks (I think!).

[QUOTE] "howiek, Bigmikes hardware related guesswork was, as usual, pretty much on target. If you're not the tenacious type, hate ferreting, intimidated by techno-babble, or don't want to at least try available troubleshooting help, follow Bryanx0a0ds' suggestion. "

Now I'm not even sure I'm gald I asked... I think I'm the original person that 2000 writes about being intimidated by the unknown...

Funny, haven't had the problem since I did the last Windows upgrade (after my first post). Don't know whether it was the threat of the voodoo 'doll' or if the upgrade did something... (Just watch - now that I've said that, it'll happen when I go to shut down before going to work today ) Looked at the links you provided and will take a longer look later to see if I can get REALLY confused... and still have to take the cover off and blow out any dust, but that WILL get done (promise!)

Anyways, maybe I'll try to get into dos if the problem comes back and see what kind of exploring I can do (without inflicting any permanent damage) - I REALLY don't want to have to rebuild if I don't have to...

Thanks again

Howie
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes