Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

starting up for the very 1st time


artart's Avatar
Member

Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 65
FL

06-22-02, 01:34 PM   #1  
starting up for the very 1st time

Finally bit the bullet and built a box of my own... Antex case with 400watt PS, 32x12x40 CDRW, 60Gb 7200rpm HDD, Asus A7N266E MB , 512MB of DDR, and AMD 2100XP...got everything installed and the Bios set and attempting to use the Maxtor software to partion the drives first. I'm stymied as the computer keeps asking for a boot disk... won't accept the HD setup software like I thought it should...does the Windows OS have to be installed before I can run this MaxBlast HD software? I was hoping to us the bootable CD from my previous computer, a HP Pavillion to get the OS off it.. Is that possible as well? What's my next step?

 
Sponsored Links
BSB's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 782
WI

06-22-02, 01:45 PM   #2  
No you do not need OS loaded first, but you do need a boot disk
to get to a dos prompt.

Brian

 
artart's Avatar
Member

Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 65
FL

06-22-02, 02:19 PM   #3  
where do I get a boot disk?

Where might one of those be obtained or can I use the HP Pavillion CD?

 
BSB's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 782
WI

06-22-02, 02:27 PM   #4  
You can go to www.bootdisk.com and should find one that will suite your needs. The problem with the CD is that it will try to recover the the system. You just need to be at the a: prompt, or dos screen.

Brian

Or you can create one from the machine you are using. control panel--->add/remove softwer---> system setup tab, I think thats the area where you can create a boot disk.

Brian

 
Search this Thread