modem question

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-03-02, 07:00 PM
Huxley
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
modem question

I have a petium 66 what kind of modem will work on this type of computer it is a compac. will a 56 k work on it?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-03-02, 07:05 PM
kaybyrd's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: N.W. MS.
Posts: 1,774
Do you mean a pentium 1 at 66mhz? 56K should work. watch for more posts, they will tell you more information about which kinds of 56k's there are out there.

kay
 
  #3  
Old 07-03-02, 07:40 PM
kaybyrd's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: N.W. MS.
Posts: 1,774
bump

x
 
  #4  
Old 07-04-02, 12:38 PM
Gary Tait
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Just make sure it is a full hardware modem. You do not have the horsepower to run a winmodem.
 
  #5  
Old 07-04-02, 01:10 PM
kaybyrd's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: N.W. MS.
Posts: 1,774
what a full hardware modem and a winmodem? never heard of the different terms. of course, i just used the one that came with my system when i purchased it.

-kay
 
  #6  
Old 07-05-02, 11:05 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,915
It will say on the box... but basically almost all ISA modems are hardware modems. It on the box it says it needs Win 98 to run, it's probably a WinModem. Be prepared though, a real modem costs more then the $15 winmodems. All external modems are real modems, you can buy one of those. I had good experience with Zoom so far, I've used several so far. That was before I realized what a fool I was for not getting broadband sooner. If you don't have a lot of computer skills/confidence then get an external modem ( make sure it's not USB). That way you don't need to open your computer up. There's no need to pay the big bucks and get a USR/3Com modem, a "less branded" one will work.
 
  #7  
Old 07-06-02, 08:48 AM
Gary Tait
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Full Hardware Modem VS Winmodem (soft modem).

Modems need some processing power to process
the data it is sending and receiving, and converting
the processed data to audio tones.

A full hardware modem does that processing using
chips on the modem itself.

Soft modems use software running on the host computer
to perform the function of the chips on a hardware modem.
With that, if you have a lower horsepower computer, a soft
modem will either suck up your free CPU cycles, or the time your applications run will affect your modem (I don't know how, I always use hardware modems). Also, the drivers and software tend to be specific to Windows 95 and newer OSes, and particular hardware.

With a hardware modem, it can be used on pretty well any O/S,
and can be operatingwith more or less generic drivers.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes