cleaning cement blocks

Old 07-26-02, 09:38 AM
harold.pohl
Visiting Guest
cleaning cement blocks

I have a patio made of cement blocks and it has become dark and discolored by moss, fungus, mold, grime, etc., etc. Does anyone know a way to clean it so it looks presentable again? I've tried chemical preparations and they help - a little. I'm looking for a dramatic improvement.

Thanks for any suggestions.

Harold Pohl

Old 07-27-02, 07:02 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
cleaning cement blocks

harold.pohl,

I noticed this hasn't been answered by anyone but I am not experienced enough in this area. Since you have tried chemicals and were not satisfied with the results, have you talked to any Deck and Patio firms that may give more insight to this? I assume you don't want to replace them due to cost but if they are honest, they may provide some great advice and won't try and sell you something.

Is sandblasting an option? I assume that if you used chemicals, that is if the blocks were painted, the paint came off, right?

What exactly is the improvement that you desire? Ask around where you live, maybe someone can come over and look at what you have. It's worth a shot!

Good Luck!

Old 07-28-02, 01:44 AM
harold.pohl
Visiting Guest
cleaning concrete blocks

Doug,

Thanks for your response to my question.

The improvement I am looking for is to clean and restore something of the original tone and color to the concrete patio blocks, which have become very dark and in some spots mossy. I am trying to avoid the cost of redoing the whole thing, but that may be the right solution. I haven't had anyone who constructs patios look at it yet and am trying to find out if I can do anything myself before going in that direction. Sandblasting did occur to me, but I have never done it and so don't know what I could expect the resulkt to be. It sounds to me like a promising possibility.

Thanks for helping.

Harold Pohl

Old 07-28-02, 04:19 AM
Harold,