Removing sidewalk and patio. Help!

Old 09-20-02, 02:24 PM
Mattmold
Visiting Guest
Exclamation Removing sidewalk and patio. Help!

i was thinking in the spring to removing a sidewalk that goes from my driveway to the front door, then to the road. i was also thinking of removing a large patio and 2 cement porches. They have brick on the side and the top is about 3" thick. they are appx. 9x7. i recived several quotes for about $2000 - 3000 to remove everything. I have never done this before and was wondering how much work is involved. The porches are re- bared i'm almost sure, but the patio and the sidewalk dont have any re-enforcement. Should I just pay someone or do it myself. I know I can do it, but is it worth paying someone?? Any help is appreciated. Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Old 09-21-02, 01:54 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Re: Removing sidewalk and patio. Help!

Well Matt, this may just the job you've been waiting all this time to use that bigger hammer you mention at the end of your post.

Sounds like you may want to rent a jack hammer to break up the concrete. You can usually cut the rebar and wire with the blade of the jackhammer too. And don't get the wrong impression about the jackhammer, it will speed up your job for sure but will still work your tail off. You will also need a sledgehammer and if you have a prybar long enough to get your shoulder into if needed that may come in handy. You also may have occasion to use things like cold chisel, small hand held sledge, hacksaw or sawzall and small bolt cutters or heavy gauge wire cutters.

And this ain't the place to work without eye protection, heavy leather gloves, and ear plugs. And unless you're lucky enough to have some property with a huge holler that needs filling, be sure to find out where you can dump the stuff, and the cost. It's a rough job but doable.
Dennis
PS - I left out friends. Bring lots of 'em!!!

Old 09-21-02, 12:52 PM
MeffaDawg
Visiting Guest