Porch Building Questions

Old 04-20-04, 09:23 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Porch Building Questions

I'm currently planning a 24'x16' 3 season porch/hot tub room that will be attached to my garage. We decided to go with a poured concrete floor, so the walls will be attached with anchor bolts. I've never done this sort of construction before, but it seems pretty simple, anchor bolts every 16" along the perimeter plus the corners. I'm assuming these will be spaced so they will be centered between the studs, also 16" on center, so every 8" there will be a stud or a bolt. Is this the correct way to do it? What do you do if you want to put a patio door in? My first thought was to double up the footer, drill 3" holes for the nut & washer, then cut off the anchor bolt flush with the footer? Is there a better method?

What about windows? The way I drew out the plans for my windows, every single king stud will hit the bolts. I can move the windows a couple inches in one direction or the other if necessary. Or can I double up the footer in those areas as well? One last thing, in the corners where the walls meet, how does that work with the bolts? Will they be spaced far enough back so they don't run into the end studs, or am I going to have to do something special there too?

I apologize if these questions seem stupid. I'm not a builder, I fix computers. My knowledge of this is limited to what I learned from my dad and on home improvement shows. My brother and I are building this porch for my mom for her 50th birthday, and I took on the design responsibility as well. Thanks in advance for any answers you can provide.

Old 04-21-04, 07:50 PM
L
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
WHOA!!

First, if you are talking about using foundation bolts to attach framed walls to the slab, place them 6' apart -- NOT "every 16" along the perimeter..." You'll need one within 24" of each corner.