Need advice on raised patio

Old 06-04-04, 12:50 PM
handyandy
Visiting Guest
Need advice on raised patio

This is my first time posting in this forum, but I have really enjoyed reading some of the advice from fellow DIYers over the past month. I would like to get some advice on a raised patio project I would like to do this summer. I want to build a dry-laid flagstone patio off the back of my house. The back door of my house is about 4 feet above ground level so the raised patio would have to be pretty high. The house foundation goes up about 2 feet off the ground and then its siding for the other 2 feet up to the door's level. I dont know if I can easily put a raised patio against the house siding like that, so maybe I will have to raise the patio only 2 feet. Whether I make the patio raised 2 feet or 4 feet, either way, I would like some advice on the best way to accomplish this. I was thinking about building a mortared cinder block wall in the form of a rectangle off the back side of my house (my house would be one side of the rectangle and the wall would make the other three sides). Probably about 18ft x 30ft. Then I was thinking I could fill the walled in area with enough gravel to raise the level 2-4 ft (depending on how high I decide I want it), then lay the flagstone on top of that gravel base (after adding a few inches of gravel dust). I have read of many people building raised patios on a bed of gravel like this but I dont know if 2 - 4 feet high was too high for it to be doable. Since my yard slopes down slightly, the walled in area would be about a foot taller at the furthest point from the house. If anyone has any ideas on a better way to do this, I would welcome the advice, or if anyone out there has done a raised patio this height before. The reason I thought I would use a mortared cinder block wall as the foundation rather than mortarless retaining wall blocks was because I wanted to cover the wall with stone veneer eventually and I thought cinder bl