Advice on Freestanding Deck.

Old 06-05-04, 12:05 PM
Visiting Guest
Advice on Freestanding Deck.

Almost done planning the deck (as simple as it is, I thought I wouldn't have to plan it ). Just unsure on a few things that I hope to clear up and need some advise and/or suggestions. I hope I can explain myself correctly since I'm no expert. Far from it.

The back door is roughly 17" high. Leaving 2" between the door and the decking leaves me with 15" to work with. The deck will be freestanding. Dimensions are 16' wide and 10' out the door.

Option 1: Do I build the deck so that I walk out onto it from the door and then build a step border (?) surrounding the deck? Or maybe a small set of steps and surround the remainder of the deck with some seating?

Option 2: Build steps walking out the door and the deck is the landing?

I'm assuming that 15" is too high to simply walk off of. I am guessing if I build a ground level deck, I would only need to build a small platform at the door for one step?

Once I get these guesses figured out, I'll throw out my whole game plan to make sure it looks right. I wanted to use the pre-cast piers without digging footings, but with a 2x6 sitting on top of a pier, I'd already be at near 13".

Sponsored Links
Old 06-05-04, 05:24 PM
L
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Just like you started out describing -- build the deck so that it is about 2" below the door threshold. You don't want to build a ground level deck if you don't have to.

You are correct -- 15" is just too much to simply step off of. You will need a step. You can build it all the way around the 3 exposed sides of the deck, or you can make it a small step, and use either railings or benches to define it.