Anyone with a 3-5 year old composite deck?

Old 06-29-04, 06:15 AM
79renegade
Visiting Guest
Anyone with a 3-5 year old composite deck?

I have been researching composites(reading everything I can) for the last 3 months,leaning towards WeatherBest,ChoiceDek and Timbertech.
How bad do these fade? I understand they will lighten, but will they look bad in 5 years?
We are going with a gray color and have seen some that have actually turned white/silver. It's difficult to get info or see actual decks in the rural area that were in.

I really don't want to go with pressure treated , but at least you can stain every couple years to help renew the color.(ya, I know, more maintenance!)

Any help or info would be appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Old 07-01-04, 06:26 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
From what I've seen, all composites fade more then you think they will. I was quite shocked how much a piece of Saddle Trex and a piece of Tan Certainteed Boardwalk faded over the last few months. The color is still there, just not what it was originally.

If you're going with grey, you are in much better shape. The greys will fade to... lighter grey. The white/silver you are talking about depends on the manufacturer. Trex also has a Natural color which starts out brown but fades to a driftwood color. I have seen faded Trex Grey and it looked pretty good - still very good saturation. I've never seen any of the composites you mentioned in their faded form, so I can't help you there.

Old 07-23-04, 04:19 PM
8888nt
Visiting Guest
I found this link to a manufacturer who makes a stain for composite decks because of the fading problems. Check it out www.messmers.com

Old 08-05-04, 09:41 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Wood flour base composites fade and many fade badly