building front porch cover with columns

Old 07-21-04, 01:12 PM
T
TKEcowboy
Visiting Guest
building front porch cover with columns

I have a brick house with a flat-faced elevation. My front door is taking a beating from the sun and rain. I'm considering building a cover with a couple of columns in each front corner. I would also like to build a flat top over it with a railing around the top. I'll post a link to picture of an example if I can find one.
I am an experienced woodworker, but could use some good pointers on this project such as types of material to use for the columns, how to join it to the brick over the door, etc. Thanks.

Glenn

Sponsored Links
Old 01-05-05, 07:30 PM
B
Brent1
Visiting Guest
I would like to tacke the same project and have the same questions. Bumping this up with hope to get some advice.

Old 01-09-05, 06:38 AM
L
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A small roof isn't that difficult to construct. But I would suggest a gabled roof, rather than a flat roof. A flat roof is going to limit what you can use for roofing material. Asphalt shignles, which is probably what most people would go with, need a minimum pitch of 3/12 to seal properly and not leak. With a brick house, think in terms of making the cover freestanding (posts at all 4 corners) and flashing the roof-to-wall joint.

One option for the posts would be to install them 1st then use a composite sleeve to cover them. (Look at composite deck materials at a local lumberyard.) No maintenance, and they will never rot.

Old 01-09-05, 09:24 AM
Tkecowboy & Brent1,