rooftop balcony ideas

Old 07-23-05, 01:34 PM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
rooftop balcony ideas

I've got a door leading out of a 2nd story bedroom onto the roof of a recent addition, approximately 11x6 feet in size. The roof is almost flat but with a small 2 inch run away from the house. The previous owner built the addition with full plans to put a balcony on top, but never did so. Follow the link to see what I'm talking about:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/mobob/t...yconstruction/

The previous owner put up the 2x10s shoddily around, nailed into chunks of 2x4s that are probably just nailed right through the overhanging roof membrane. I want to avoid putting holes in the top as well, and want the entire wood structure to 'float' overtop. This way if there are leaks in the future (probably inevitable), i can simply unsecure the deck from the sides and 'lift' it off to repair the roof.

I have no expertise nor experience in this area, but believe i have a basic plan as to how i'm going to do it. First, i will remove and properly attach the 2x10 skirt. I then plan on running 2x4s away from the house spaced 2 ft apart, then 2x6 joists on top, each being gradually cut down to almost 2x4 closer to the house to account for the 'run' of the roof. These will secure to the 2x10s at the sides, and have appropriate bracing. I will then lay the deck board on top of the joists. The railing will be fastened onto the 2x10s as well.

I also want to have a stairway+platform extending out from the left side of the addition, and realize i'll need to dig some holes and put some posts in for those - i've no idea how to do this part, but that can (hopefully) come later.