finish nail for tongue and groove porch?

Old 04-24-09, 09:39 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
finish nail for tongue and groove porch?

I'm looking for the right fastener to use on my 1x4 tongue and groove pt pine porch. I figured 8d 2 1/2" galvanized ring shank finish nails would be ideal, but I can't find them at local stores (HD, Lowes). There are galvanized finish but no ring shank, galvanized ring shank but not a finish nail, finish ring shank but brite not galvanized. I assume this means the pros don't think it's useful/necessary. I know I need galvanized for the pt (ACQ I think?). I know ring shank would be ideal since it's flooring and I'm installing on old joists which aren't as level/solid as they used to be. And I think the finish head is necessary to allow the tongue and groove to join fully.

Of course I'm a rookie and I buy everything as I go so I like to avoid the shipping delay of ordering online, if possible. Any guidance would be appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Old 04-24-09, 12:48 PM
If you are planning on face nailing an 8d galvanized casing nail would do the trick. If you are going to blind nail a 6d galvanized casing would work. If the porch gets a lot of sun and a lot of moisture you might want to consider a stainless trim head screw.

Old 04-24-09, 02:42 PM
A trim head stainless screw is a good idea I hadn't thought of.
And you're right a casing nail is probably more appropriate than a finish nail, but I still haven't found that with both galvanized finish and ring shank. Maybe I can find that in stainless ring shank, though I thought the galvanized finish would hold better than stainless. I also assume the stainless nail will drive up my cost. Thanks for the input.

If anyone else knows where to get 8d galvanized ring shank casing/finish nails, I'd love to hear it.

Old 04-24-09, 03:00 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts