Ledgers .... should i take the concrete plunge or freestand it ???

Old 06-09-10, 09:34 PM
W
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Ledgers .... should i take the concrete plunge or freestand it ???

Ok guys heres my dilemma . . .

Its my first time building a deck , but I am proficient with carpentry tools and such , and have all the toys to do the job . … just never framed a deck.
The deck will be 20’ wide along the house and 16’ deep . on one of the furthest corners away from the house will be a octagonal shape like you see in the attached sketch . I plan on putting 4 or 5 footers along the very end of the deck , and was planning on attaching the 20’ ledger board to the house .
If you have a sharp eye , you can see below the French doors that I don’t have very much room to work with … in fact, after I regrade the soil close to the house, I will have about 14” from the ground to just below the French doors. I plan on using 2x10 framing so I can span the entire 16 foot depth of the deck .
So ive realized I will have about 2” of ground clearance  .
Anyways, since I don’t have the houses rim joist to tie into, that means ill need to attach the 2”x10” ledger board to the hollow masonry block ! and NO , I don’t have access to a crawl space or basement to get to the other side of the masonry so I can sandwich the concrete with another 2x10 on the inside of the house . it’s a fireplace room on a slab… part of the garage.
ive read article after article on this , and everyone has a different opinion :
- Drill the ledger board holes to the concrete block’s mortar joints
- Fill all the concrete block’s hollow voids with mortar (I don’t think so)
- Drill all the way through the brick and attach another 2x10 on the other side of the block(cant, no access )
- Drill into the hollow spot and use HILTI brand epoxy anchors