Mould & Fungus on an 'Upside Down' Deck...?!

Old 08-24-11, 02:31 AM
E
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Mould & Fungus on an 'Upside Down' Deck...?!

Have inherited a rather interesting deck. The view is great over the back yard where kangaroos graze the river flats. However, lack of care has left it a little rotten in places on the top railing, and certainly lots of green scunge on the deck floor.

Additionally, it appears to me as though it's been laid upside down . I'm no expert but have a look at the pictures to tell me if i'm right or not.

Firstly, apart from the obvious need to replace the one rotten top rail, i want to ask how i can tell if the whole thing is a write-off based on the presence of what botanists call bracket-fungus, and if not, what to do about it, and the green mould. If it's salvageable, then i'd probably consider flipping the deck floor boards too.

ABOVE: Fungus and rot

BELOW: 'top' of deck and 'below' deck respectively...?

Old 08-24-11, 04:57 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Welcome to the forums!! The deck boards are unique and interesting. The original intent may have been for the grooves to be down to prevent warping , but golly, it sure looks good, and would help with traction on wet days. As far as the handrails go, replace them, obviously as the rot has begun to take it's toll. To get rid of the green stuff, you could use a pump up sprayer and mix a weak solution of bleach and water and just spray it on. If you have a humid atmosphere, it may need to be repeated yearly to keep it under control.

Old 08-24-11, 05:54 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 698 Likes on 616 Posts
the way I clean a deck