Belt Sander or Orbital Sander

Old 02-15-12, 04:28 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Belt Sander or Orbital Sander

Well I just joined the ranks of all the homeowners and bought a house. Well I am new to this do-it-yourself stuff, but I am wanting to learn and have the gratification of accomplishing some home projects. I just bought a 2 story home that has a deck that comes off my master bedroom off the second floor. My house was built on 04, so the deck itself has some weather to it, and so I am wanting to strip the deck of the faded / peeling white paint and repaint it.

My question is that I bought a belt sander, and I am curious to know should I have bought a an orbital / palm sander instead. I know what the procedure is to re-doing a deck. Wash the deck, make sure the deck is free of debris, make sure it's dry Sand the deck with a corse, then a medium, and then a light grade paper.

I am just concerned I bought the wrong tool for the job. Any advise is much appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Old 02-15-12, 04:47 PM
Group Moderator
Received 189 Votes on 178 Posts
Happily I've never gone to the back breaking work that you are taking on! If I was doing a large deck, I'd probably rent a floor sander, and knock out the majority of it with that. If you don't want to rent and you have your knee pads ready, the belt sander will be your best bet. Be sure you keep the sander moving because you'll put some pretty bad grooves in the deck if you don't. Belt sanders are very aggressive, esp with a 60 grit belt! You "might" benefit from an orbital sander (round) to get up closer to posts and other vertical surfaces.